Fudge Chunk Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
I went looking specifically for a fudge brownie recipe, and this one interested me because of the pecans. I made a double batch to take to a party, and it was a big hit. The thing is, I made a mistake, in melting all of the chocolate, instead of leaving the semi-sweet into chunks, but that was probably a "great" mistake, as this turned out to be the best and fudgiest brownies I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Ah, the quest for the perfect brownie! Admit it, it's never-ending among serious chocoholics, now isn't it? This recipe gets a 5 star rating from me because the end product smelled fantastic coming out of the oven; it had a crackly top (just the way I like it); it made a nice, thick brownie; and best of all it was chocolatey, fudgey, through and through. I threw in some hazelnuts and white chocolate bits that I had leftover from another recipe and was pleased with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NHORAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Really nice recipe! I made it as-is the first time through, except with chocolate chips as I was out of block chocolate, and it was really good. The second time through, I decided to deepen the chocolate flavor a bit, and added 1/3 cup cocoa powder to the flour. It was sensational. Thanks for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I am only giving this recipe 4 stars because of the bitter flavor that the brownies have. I made them following the recipe exactly. The brownies were fudgy and chewy like promised but the over powering bitter taste of the unsweetened chocolate ruined them for me. I will make them again but next time I will use less (or no) unsweetened chocolate. Thanks for the recipe, once I get the ratio of chocolates down this will be a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariemb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Arlington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
These turned out alright for me. The only problem was the oven time. It needed a lot longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I have searched high and low for the perfect brownie recipe and this is definitely it. Absolutely perfect! I used all semi-sweet chocolate squares. Well done, I need search no more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This was very good, I am definitely more of a fudge brownie person. I used walnuts instead as my husband doesn't care for pecans. I also took the other reviewers suggestions to add cocoa, although it probably isn't necessary. I live in Denver so the cooking time is at least 8+ minutes longer, and even then it required a fork. I might tweak this a bit to work for high altitude, but other than that a very good simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I made a few alterations to this recipe, but the brownies still turned out great. I didn't have pecans, so I substituted walnuts. I halved the sugar (which I always do with dessert recipes whenever possible) and put 1/2 the semi-sweet chocolate called for. I also mixed cocoa in the unsweetened chocolate/butter mixture to give it a richer chocolatey taste. Mmm, mmm, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
My young guests were floored with these brownies. I omitted nuts and sprinkled with confectioners sugar. Baked in reynolds aluminum star shaped cups and muffin cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Hi i converted this recipe into metric and it worked a treat. Mmmmmmmm dont think these will last very long in my house. First time I`ve ever made brownies dont think it will be the last thanks.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States