Fry Bread Tacos II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Five stars for the actual fry bread. I did make a few small changes. My mom learned how to make fry bread from a Navajo woman and she gave me a few suggestions. Add a little bit of fat to the actual dough to make the fry bread tender- I used about 1-2 tsp. olive oil (not authentic, but oh well). Also, instead of just a depression in the center, she always makes a small hole. This allows it to cook evenly. I fried in a mix of canola, olive, and coconut oil (ran out of canola). I made 6 fry breads out of this recipe (some smaller than others). I used my instant-read thermometer to measure the the temp of the oil. These turned out perfect, and so yummy! The topping was only 3 stars, at best- it's a little bit bland. Next time I would just make my own thick chili to top these with. I thought kneading the dough would be difficult, but it really wasn't. It was a little sticky, but I only added a couple pinches of extra flour and it handled just fine- turned into a nice, silky dough. I enjoyed making these! I ate too many, and I don't make fried foods often (harldy at all) so I'll probably wait a little until I make them again, but I really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
These are awesome for just the Fry Bread alone! Best Bonus: I found that they make up quite large and only 1 taco filled fry bread can easily satisfy my teenage sons! Everyone like the taco's that way for a change. Yummy too for doing a dessert with the cinn/sugar/honey & also try it with ice cream. **Update** I have made these several times per the resquest of my teens--the first few times I struggled a bit with the dough. Hints to help make the dough easier to handle: 1) I scalded my milk before adding to flour mixture. 2) Make sure you knead it at least the 5 min. 3) Make sure your oil is a 365.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This review is for the fry bread portion: Oh my this recipe is soooo good! This tastes like the "chalupa bread" from Taco Bell only BETTER!! Taco's never tasted so good! No more hard shell or flour tortillas for our family. Once you try these you will never go back. They are easy, tasty and so chewy (I could go on & on!). I made these 2 days ago and used the bread like regular tacos(they fold in half nicely after they cool)and filled with regular taco meat and toppings. Well, my husband already asked me when I was going to make them again! So we are having then again tomorrow! P.S. If you have any fry bread leftover try them with ice cream (unbelievable).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGORDON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Oh what an ordeal to make...but boy were they worth it. I think I must have done something wrong in the frying process (I've never really fried anything before). I used a big sauce pot, filled it with oil and heated the oil to the temp the directions told. Only thing is when I fried my bread the whole house filled with smoke. By the time I fried my last piece my fire alarm was going off, then my security system went off, then the fire department came, then all the neighbors came out to see what was going on...and I'm just like 'what...I'm just making fry bread...'. After the smoke cleared we sat down at the dinner table and enjoyed a wonderful and yummy meal of fry bread tacos. Everyone LOVED them. I will for sure make it again, though, next time I will have to figure out a way of doing it without involving the fire department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyInBliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
HELPFUL TIPS: This makes 3 (using the suggested 3/4C dough) & I can't imagine ANY adult eating more than 1 since they take up the entire plate (as my pic shows). It's necessary to make this as PAPER THIN as possible as they thicken up a lot. I like to make this for company & use a little less than 1/2C so they're the perfect portion size. I fry these about 2-3 min. on each side. By the time you flip it, it shouldn't sink into the oil. I also used a knife to pop any bubbles that formed so there would be a nice flat surface. You can make these ahead, and heat up in oven (temp 200) for guests or even microwave! I layer mine w/refried beans, then the ground beef, lettuce, tomatoes, green/red/AND white onions diced, followed by cheese, salsa, sour cream. This is truly the best and as mentioned, wonderful w/ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
AMAZING!!! I was so nervous about making this, as I've never made any sort of bread or tortilla, and I have only fried like 3 things in my entire life. Very easy and so delicious. I made the entire taco, per the recipe and it was just awesome. I served my boyfriend first while I finished frying the bread and I peeked out of the kitchen at him to get his reaction to them (I'm an insecure cook... and a dork). I was thrilled when I saw his eyes widen and he got the 'wow' look on his face. :) Thank you so much, I'll be making these often. They were fun to make and SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
You really do have to be certain the oil is hot enough before dropping in the flattened dough, or it won't cook through before turning golden brown; once you drop it in, though, the fry bread is done in a flash, and it really is wonderful. If you aren't a big salsa fan (like my husband), try substituting a can of diced tomatoes and some fresh chopped onion, garlic, parsley and cilantro. I've also noticed several people noting that taco seasoning is too strong; I would suggest seasoning your beef (or ground bison, if you can get it!) with salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder, chili powder and paprika to taste. A great recipe, and versatile; it reminds me strongly of the Indian Tacos I used to get at the great State Fair of Oklahoma as a child!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I only made the fry bread and it was easy and delicious. I will be making this again except I will double the recipe.Thanks Robyn for a recipe I will enjoy for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
This is one of my favorites!!! I have never tried this meat mixture, but the bread is fantastic, think a 100% better homeade version of the taco bell chulupa, soft yet crunchy and rich. normaly I make mesquite grilled chicken breast, chop it up, and top with lettice, tomatoes, onions, cheese, & a bit of ranch. the best! I always get huge raves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
Marvelous. SO SIMPLE! My instant read thermometer was essential. Oil must be at 365 degrees to make a perfect texture. NO colder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States