Fry Bread Tacos II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
It's an awesome Recipe! The whole family enjoys it and when I asked my mom what she wanted for her birthday dinner this is what she asked for. Needless to say it was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
I've been making this recipe for my kids, ever since my husband came home from a business trip to New Mexico, some 19 years ago. He described it to me, and I pretty much took it from there. It's a wonderful recipce and makes a great meal. You cam make these as plain or fancy as you like. I've served this recipe or variations over the years to a lot of people. Everyone has always liked these. My kids always request these when they come home for a visit. Try it; yours will love them too. It's a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This review is for the fry bread portion: Oh my this recipe is soooo good! This tastes like the "chalupa bread" from Taco Bell only BETTER!! Taco's never tasted so good! No more hard shell or flour tortillas for our family. Once you try these you will never go back. They are easy, tasty and so chewy (I could go on & on!). I made these 2 days ago and used the bread like regular tacos(they fold in half nicely after they cool)and filled with regular taco meat and toppings. Well, my husband already asked me when I was going to make them again! So we are having then again tomorrow! P.S. If you have any fry bread leftover try them with ice cream (unbelievable).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGORDON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I did not find this recipe that great. The fry bread was difficult to make and, although it tasted good with the sweet stuff, I was unable to make it into a form that would hold taco stuff. It was also challenging to make the meal on my own since the bread required so much extra attention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
everything was great! my family enjoyed the meal...i found making the fry bread was a little difficult, but then i have never tried to make any kind of bread. i am definatley going to try again...i just need some practice. over all the recipe was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I was looking for a ground beef recipe that I could make on short notice (today) with a tight budget and nobody would believe how easy and inexpensive this was! I didn't find the fry bread any more difficult than any of the baking I've done, and although a little messy (both preparation and eating), the results were well worth it! The only complaint I got was that although I doubled the recipe there still wasn't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
WOW what a great change of pace. Everyone loved them and I wished I had made a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This tasted just like the Indian Taco's that I used to get when I went to the Oklahoma State Fair. I would suggest patting the dough out to 1/8 inch thickness as they puff up. As far as the previous comment about the dough being hard to work with, be sure to dust the dough ball with flour before handling and make sure to keep your surface dusted with flour and your hands too as long as you are patting out the dough. I added chopped green onions and tomatoes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wander'sWorld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicoma Park, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Locust Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
The frybread is delicious, with cinnamon and sugar on it, but I don't know how you'd make tacos out of it - unless I did it wrong - because it was waaaay to puffy. Would be great in the dessert category, though. Just sprinkle cinnamon sugar on it directly out of the fryer, and it's grrrreat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I only made the fry bread and it was easy and delicious. I will be making this again except I will double the recipe.Thanks Robyn for a recipe I will enjoy for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States