Fry Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
In New Mexico there is a difference between Fried Bread (also called Indian Fried Bread) and Sopapillas. Your directions are for fried bread, also it remains flat after frying. Great topped with meat sauce, cheese, chili, etc.... Sopapillas are rolled out into a thin round shape which is than cut into smaller pieces (about 3"x4"), they are fried until they swell into a flaky bubble and are a light golden color, cut them open add butter or honey (heaven!!) great stuffed also. I don't know about Elephant Ears but on the Island of Trinadad they are just called Bake, they are rolled out thick like fried bread but cut up like sopapillas, fried till they swell and are golden, remove from oil and sprinkle with a little salt, serve them the same way as fried bread or sopapillas or use them as you would dinner rolls although honey and butter are always an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Stack it up with taco fixings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
The kids really like this...but I thought it was too flat - I like my frybread to poof up. I also found it kind of hard to shape to any large size. But it's a good basic recipe and my kids loved helping to make it and they ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This treat is known by different names in different areas. Here in Arizona it is known as fry bread, in New Mexico it is known as sopapillas and in Washington it is known as elephant ears. I think it should be noted that.. elephant ears and sopapillas and Fry bread are nowhere near the same thing. They all come from very different cultures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
This is good fry bread, but sopapillas are VERY different in both Arizona and New Mexico (they are basically like a hallow pillow of dough, fry bread is flat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I enjoy these recipes. Easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
This is great stuff...I had some with butter on it, then sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on some also. I just fried it on both sides in a skillet with about an inch of oil...this is WAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
I remember eating this wonderful bread for the first time in AZ and just loved it. This recipe was extremely close to the crispy bread I had back then. Very easy to make and very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
These may be okay as "Frybread," but if you are expecting to get the wonderful, puffy "sopapillas" served as dessert in New Mexico, you will be sorely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
great for lunchbox sandwiches too! Beats the 'same ole, same ole...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States