Fry Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Mmmm, yummy. Crusty, chewy clouds of goodness. Perfect for tacos or sprinkle some cinnamon and sugar on them for a real treat. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Wonderful! Not *quite* as good as Arizona state fair fry bread, but good. My in-law family called them "scones"! They all refused to put taco ingredients on top- and had dinner of scones with honey! I enjoyed them, and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Love this recipe! However, I added 1 tablespoon of sugar for a little extra something. A great, tasty, and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelseyville, California, USA
Living In: Seymour, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
mmmmm....just like fried dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
My family just loves these....I have made them twice now...and they always go fast. One suggestion to everyone though, these are only good warm...so you can fry up what you need and put the rest of the dough in teh fridge for the next day to fry up.....that way they are always made fresh, but the dough is made once..... :) These are make awesome frybread for a great tex-mex dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
It's a long time before you figure the exact consistency, but once you do it's worth it and very simple. I like to add raisins or grated cheddar cheese for a different flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NINAMERRICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
These are so easy to make and are great with a large group under the full moon over a fire vs. the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Good like Apache fry bread... except without the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always The Hostess
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
They sell Elephant Ears in MI too and those are actually funnel cakes, nothing like (Indian) Fry Bread or Sopapillas. However there is a recipe for Elephant Ears which contains yeast but is somewhat similar to Fry Bread and Sopapillas. Traditional Fry Bread Recipe Indian Fry Bread ga-do di-gv-tsa-la-nv-hi a-yv-wi-ya 3 cups flour 1 tablespoon baking powder 1/2 teaspoon salt 1 cup warm water Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. Add warm water in small amounts and knead dough until soft but not sticky. Adjust flour or water as needed. Cover bowl and let stand about 15 minutes. Pull off large egg-sized balls of dough and roll out into fairly thin rounds. Fry rounds in hot oil until bubbles appear on the dough, turn over and fry on the other side until golden. Serve hot. Try brushing on honey, or making into an Indian Taco. Buttermilk Fry Bread Substitute buttermilk for water. Follow the same recipe. Sopapilla's MEXICAN SOPAPILLAS 2 c. flour 3 tsp. baking powder 1/2 tsp. salt 1 tbsp. shortening Oil for deep frying Sift dry ingredients together in bowl. Cut in shortening until crumbly. Add 1/2 cup warm water gradually, stirring with fork. Dough will be crumbly. Turn onto lightly floured surface. Knead until smooth. Divide in half. Let stand for 10 minutes. Cut into 3" squares. Fry, several at a time, in deep fat at 400 degrees for 30 seconds on each side. Yield: 40 sopapillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
In New Mexico there is a difference between Fried Bread (also called Indian Fried Bread) and Sopapillas. Your directions are for fried bread, also it remains flat after frying. Great topped with meat sauce, cheese, chili, etc.... Sopapillas are rolled out into a thin round shape which is than cut into smaller pieces (about 3"x4"), they are fried until they swell into a flaky bubble and are a light golden color, cut them open add butter or honey (heaven!!) great stuffed also. I don't know about Elephant Ears but on the Island of Trinadad they are just called Bake, they are rolled out thick like fried bread but cut up like sopapillas, fried till they swell and are golden, remove from oil and sprinkle with a little salt, serve them the same way as fried bread or sopapillas or use them as you would dinner rolls although honey and butter are always an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States