Fry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
it was ok, but i still prefer rhodes rolls that have been stretched out a bit and fried up. I found this recipe to be a bit tough and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I've had better, but perhaps this is the most authentic in that it uses shortening/lard and water. Slightly heavy. It does taste much better made with milk. Went well with the chile verde from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I made this 2 times so far and the first was so good I added about a tablespoon of sugar in with the flour and they were so good we had them with soup, they were very light and fluffy very much like a sopapilla(spelling) the next time I made them I used to hot of water and tried adding in to many flavors and they wer flat and nasty, but sticking with the orignial its great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Very good basic recipe. I tried it with part wheat flour which also turned out very good. I disagree with the yield being 12. But I also like to make them larger for Navajo tacos in which case I would say the yield is more like 6-8. For anyone saying that they turned out hard and/or crisp, they probably stretched the dough out too thin. I did this on my first one, so the next one I didn't stretch out as much and it was perfect. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is such an easy and great recipe that my 13 year old has it mastered after 1 try. She made "Indian Tacos" for the family plus guests and had rave reviews. I have been using this recipe for several years and decided that it deserves a top notch review, if my kids are able to get the same results with it. Everyone wants a copy of the recipe. Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This was good. I was going to rate it a 4 due to the slight baking powder taste I detected, but my daughter insisted that I rate it a 5!! I wonder if I should have let it rest a while before forming patties and frying- the ones I did last puffed up a little more than the first ones I fried. All of my kids loved these. We had these for dinner with Veggie Vegetarian Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
My entire family is Native American from the West Coast/and Alaska and this recipe is very close to how we make it. You know good FRYBREAD, when it tastes good without anything on it yet! Also, for those that come out with tough dough or crackers, you've kneaded and worked with it too long or added too much flour in. As for cooking FRYBREAD; I always try and use my old black cooking skillet, it keeps the temperature of the oil or shortening more consistent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Easy to make and tastes good. Who cares whether or not it's "authentic"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
was good, tasted just like the ones we had at a community pow wow. Topped 'em with chili and taco toppings, not honey and cinnamon. No way would I use that much shortening, I just coated the bottom of a fry pan with oil- maybe 1 cup total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
after my second time making this i came to a conclusion that this is none the less a fried biscuit... the ingredients say just that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Forget-Me-Not

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States