Fry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I really can't compare this to authentic fry bread (as I'm sure there are different home bases varieties), however, it seemed much like hard tack. I think you have to be really careful not to overknead, I would guess. Hmmmm. Not quite convinced about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ttownbeth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Just like my Auntie showed me. We use this recipie for Indian tacos as well as Sweet fry bread for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patience

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
just like grandma use to make yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I'm Navajo and I like using 1tsp. salt. Otherwise it's a little flat. Sometimes I'll add powdered milk or warm milk. Any true Navajo will swear only by using BlueBird Flour - comes in white linen bags. Shape into the size of a tennis ball. Flatten. Starting from the edges use your fingers to stretch into a larger circle. Shape one hand into a fist and lay dough on top. Using other hand pull and turn like making a pizza. Or if you want to cheat, use a rolling pin to do most of the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Im part Native American and we grew up with this bread. My parents have passed on and I was THRILLED to see this recipe with so many reviews. This is a very easy recipe and also reminds me of Naan (India) bread, soft and yummy. I use expeller expressed coconut oil (no coconut flavor) as it does not smell up the house with oily odor. I fry in virgin coconut oil (flavorful) if I want to sprinkle with sugar/cinnamon. Tastes like a donut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I thought this recipe was really good. I increased the salt, as other reviewers suggested and loved the flavor. Being that I've never made fry bread before, nor have I seen anyone else make it, I knew I'd have to experiment to get this to work for me. As soon as the dough came together, I split it in half so that I could experiment in small batches. You need to be careful not to overwork the dough or your bread will come out dense. Also, you want to fry at a high temperature in order to get the bread to bubble and rise. I think I might also try frying in oil rather than shortening next time because I'm hoping that will make the bread a little lighter. We used the bread as a base for pulled pork sandwiches and it was great. I will try the tacos next time. If I can get the dough to work out better next time, I'll change my rating to 5 stars, but until I work with the recipe more, I'm not sure if the density of the dough is my fault or if the recipe needs more tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is the same recipe that my grandma gave me and let me tell you its amazing!!!! my daughter loves it with cinn/sugar mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Just tried it. I'm native and when I saw the recipe I didn't think it would work so I tried it. Guess what - it didn't work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
OMG I love love love this recipe!! I made homemade chili beans tonight and I was in the mood for navajo tacos... so i decided to try and make fry bread, it came out perfect!!! no more trips to the state fair to buy them once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Excellent! Appreciated suggestions in reviews for other things that can be done. We topped with a bit of honey sprinkled with a tiny bit of nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stewartville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States