Fry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
my frybread turned out super flat and hard :/ I followed the directions...but I used canola oil instead of shortening... can that really make that big of a difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Perfect for my tacos. the dough was super easy to work with, light. I used my Kitchenaid knead attachment until just pulled together. I tried pressing with hand but was easier and quicker to roll gently. Also place 3 slits in dough b4 frying. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nonavr66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I grew up in Arizona where we had this all the time as a kid. We would get it at school and every fair or festival we went to, and we ate it with powdered sugar and honey. I've been craving this for awhile, and this was very similar to what I remembered. The instructions didn't give very much info on size, so I think mine turned out a little bigger than I would like. I'm sure it will get easier to judge size each time I make it. The recipe itself is so easy I already know I won't need the instructions next time and can make it by memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I cut this recipe in half to get 6 fry breads. I did add just a little more salt than what was called for. I sprinkled a little flour over the counter before patting my bread balls out to keep them from sticking. They flattened really well, I didn't need a rolling pin. I actually fried these in my cast iron skillet. These turned out absolutely perfect. I grew up eating fry bread as a child--this recipe totally took me back. The kids loved these, they fought over the leftover fry bread. NO LEFTOVERS. This is pure comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I am Native and I use this recipe. I add a little more salt, about 3 table spoons of sugar and about 3/4 tablespoon of yeast. I never measure...really, but I get 2-3 batches of frybread out of a package of yeast. The secret to good fry bread is in the mixing. The only way I have ever eaten good frybread was when my grandmothers or myself pushed all the dry ingredients to the side of the bowl, and poured the water in the middle. Then using your spoon, we just go around the bowl and scrape more flour into the water until all is mixed. Then as soon as it is mixed totally, don't mix it anymore! :) We take pieces out of the bowl and have a little flour on the counter and set it on there to dust it and make it not stick to your fingers. Then just work around the frybread carefully making your circle shape. I've never rolled out my fread, made them into balls, or flattened them into patties. I think the secret is in the hand prep...shaping each individual one with care to not rip it. Good recipe. Thats all you need for frybread! We just like ours all poofy! Don't forget when you make the first one, as soon as it is cool, give everyone around you a bite of the first one. My kids just hover waiting for a piece of the first one. Then, put paper towels (or newspaper! LOL!) into the bottom of a paper bag, and drop your frybread in there when your done. Thats what we have always done in our extended family! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
My husband is Ottawa/Chippewa Indian and I have been with him for 34 years and he has always made our Indian Bread and everyone just loves it. He even makes it better than all his sisters do and most restaurants that serve it out west. This recipe uses the same ingredients, but only one thing he does is instead of making the dough into balls he makes the dough sticky and takes spoonfuls and pats it into flour (so its not sticking on the counter or cutting board) top and bottom then pokes small holes all over it with a fork, then puts it in the hot oil, then poke a hole in the center. It comes out light and fluffy. Also put salt into the hot oil so it doesn't smoke as much because of the flour. Tastes good with Bean,Potato,& Hominy Soups. Delicious. He makes this when we are short on food, very filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Standish, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Just like tweety bread, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Quick, easy, inexpensive, and delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Thank you for bringing me back to my childhood. More importantly, thank you for bringing my father back to his. My grandma use to make this all the time and when she passed away no one made it anymore, maybe once or twice. I made this for my dad and I and it was so sood it made him cry. Just like grandma's. Thank you for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Huntington

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelly
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Turned out great!! The dough is really easy to work w/ unlike some fry bread dough's I have delt with. So easy my 4 yr old help me make it. Nice and puffy, not thick jus the way I like it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States