Fruity Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This was too sweet for me. I ate it with salty, cracked pepper triscuits to offset the sweetness. I like dates, but even after cutting the amount in half, there were still too many. Also, the yogurt was too sweet; I noticed some of the reviews said they used plain yogurt, which I think definitely would have been better. The only thing I didn't add was celery because I didn't have any, but I put in celery seed. I think the crunch would have helped a little to offset how soft the dates were getting. I think this could be a good recipe with changes--I'll have to go back and see what everyone did in their reviews to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
It's very sweet and has an unusual contrast with the curry. Way too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess Botelho
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I enjoyed the complexity of this dish. Surprisingly good. You must use medjool dates to get the right texture for this dish. I will use a little less curry next time so as not to overpower the tuna and fruit flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipejunky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Had this for breakfast, who would have thought apples and tuna go together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oddball8945

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
MMMM. It was good. It had just the right amount of curry too. At first I thought everything would completely overpower the tuna, but I was wrong. It was great! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This recipe was terrible I did it to the T and it did not taste good at all. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
One of our new favorites!! When I make this I usually just use tuna, lemon yogurt, raisins and apples. It might sound funny but it tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
Yummy salad! I've made a couple of changes to the version I take to school for lunch on a weekly basis. First, since the apple tends to get a little soggy after sitting in the fridge for awhile, I substitute Asian pear, which has a firmer texture. I also substitute chopped dried apricots for half of the dates, add a couple tablespoons of chopped walnuts, and use regular nonfat yogurt instead of lemon, all to my personal taste. This is definitely a great recipe -- makes a wonderful lunch accompanied by wheat crackers and sliced kiwi fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I improvised a bit and threw in some dried cranberries and used just plain lowfat yogurt. The taste was fantastic - great alternative to regular tuna salad - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States