Fruity Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This was too sweet for me. I ate it with salty, cracked pepper triscuits to offset the sweetness. I like dates, but even after cutting the amount in half, there were still too many. Also, the yogurt was too sweet; I noticed some of the reviews said they used plain yogurt, which I think definitely would have been better. The only thing I didn't add was celery because I didn't have any, but I put in celery seed. I think the crunch would have helped a little to offset how soft the dates were getting. I think this could be a good recipe with changes--I'll have to go back and see what everyone did in their reviews to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
It's very sweet and has an unusual contrast with the curry. Way too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I enjoyed the complexity of this dish. Surprisingly good. You must use medjool dates to get the right texture for this dish. I will use a little less curry next time so as not to overpower the tuna and fruit flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipejunky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Had this for breakfast, who would have thought apples and tuna go together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oddball8945

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
MMMM. It was good. It had just the right amount of curry too. At first I thought everything would completely overpower the tuna, but I was wrong. It was great! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This recipe was terrible I did it to the T and it did not taste good at all. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
One of our new favorites!! When I make this I usually just use tuna, lemon yogurt, raisins and apples. It might sound funny but it tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
Yummy salad! I've made a couple of changes to the version I take to school for lunch on a weekly basis. First, since the apple tends to get a little soggy after sitting in the fridge for awhile, I substitute Asian pear, which has a firmer texture. I also substitute chopped dried apricots for half of the dates, add a couple tablespoons of chopped walnuts, and use regular nonfat yogurt instead of lemon, all to my personal taste. This is definitely a great recipe -- makes a wonderful lunch accompanied by wheat crackers and sliced kiwi fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I improvised a bit and threw in some dried cranberries and used just plain lowfat yogurt. The taste was fantastic - great alternative to regular tuna salad - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States