Fruity Fun Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I make these a lot...easy and yummy! The easiest way to keep your fruits from browning is to place them in a bowl with Sprite (or any lemon/lime soda combo) so that they all get wet and then skewer them. It is a lot better than adding lemon juice because the flavor doesn't seem to sink into the fruit. This trick is also great for fondues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
877 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
We made these for a wedding shower. We took a cabbage and sliced a small piece off the side to make a flat side. Then we laid it down in a basket. We poked the fruit skewers into the cabbage so that it looked like a flower arrangement of fruit. We used blueberrys, strawberrys, melon, pineapple, and grapes. We even cut the pineapple in star/flower shapes. It was a beautiful display.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
406 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz O

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I took this recipe to a baby shower and everyone said what a great idea it was, however, I had a problem with the apples and the bananas turning brown within an hour. Any suggestion on how to keep this from happening are welcomed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I make these to sell in the concession stand at our summer swim meets and we always sell out and have folks asking for more. I try to choose fruits that will not brown if they are prepared ahead of time. My usual combo is cantaloupe, honeydew, pineapple (either fresh or canned chunks), strawberries, & red grapes. But there are lots of great choices that work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boonville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Fruit skewers make an excellent addition to parties, BBQs, wedding receptions, brunches, etc. I feel the whole reason for displaying fruit pieces on a skewer is to make a beautiful display. I don't believe they can be visually enjoyed laying flat on a serving platter. Instead, why not try using a watermelon as a "basket" in which to stand the skewers up to be enjoyed. Cut the melon in half, be sure to cut a flat surface on the bottom so it can sit straight, then stick your colorful skewers of fruit into the watermelon rind so that it resembles a basket of flowers. It makes a beautiful and inexpensive centerpiece for your buffet or serving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
It is hard to beat fruit. I didn't give it 5 stars because you need a fairly large surface to work on and it is a bit time consuming. Best to chop all the fruit up and put in into bowls and take an assembly line approach to making the skewers. I borrowed this idea from a catered party. Use watermelon on your skewers and take one half of the hollowed out watermelon and turn it upside down and poke all of the skewers into it. Think of it as a big round porcupine when completed. It makes a really pretty centerpiece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
These are the best and always a hit at parties! They are so easy to make and fun to eat. I use a combination of strawberries, cantaloupe, honeydew melon, pineapple, and grapes. You can use any combination of fruit that you like. I serve them with "Fruit Dip I" from this site and people gobble these up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Creative, cute and colorful. Also, a great addition to a buffet table where, let's face it, a lot of the other dishes are not so healthy or figure friendly. I used shorter bamboo skewers so they'd hold a more reasonable amount of fruit for one serving and so they'd fit on the plate better. (Wish I would have thought to end each with a grape to cover up the pointy end and make these more attractive...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Refreshingly different appetizer amongst the usual dips and spreads. I used a variety of summer fruits as shown in one of the photos: kiwi, pineapple, cantaloupe and strawberries. I served these with "Big Mama's Fruit Dip" from this site, but most everyone ate them without. So pretty, and one of the unusual good-for-you additions to the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarielJD
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I have done this myself several times - it works great to serve fruit and fruit dip at gatherings. Place the skewers on a fancy platter with fruit dip in rim sugared margarita glasses and it looks quite elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States