Fruity Fun Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I have done this myself several times - it works great to serve fruit and fruit dip at gatherings. Place the skewers on a fancy platter with fruit dip in rim sugared margarita glasses and it looks quite elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I make these to sell in the concession stand at our summer swim meets and we always sell out and have folks asking for more. I try to choose fruits that will not brown if they are prepared ahead of time. My usual combo is cantaloupe, honeydew, pineapple (either fresh or canned chunks), strawberries, & red grapes. But there are lots of great choices that work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boonville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
We made these for a wedding shower. We took a cabbage and sliced a small piece off the side to make a flat side. Then we laid it down in a basket. We poked the fruit skewers into the cabbage so that it looked like a flower arrangement of fruit. We used blueberrys, strawberrys, melon, pineapple, and grapes. We even cut the pineapple in star/flower shapes. It was a beautiful display.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
396 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz O

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
We made a recipe similar to this for my daughter's bridal shower. We put the skewers into a decorative flower pot (supported by styrofoam disc in pot). Looked fantastic! So many compliments. We served cinnamon fruit dip on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Fruit skewers make an excellent addition to parties, BBQs, wedding receptions, brunches, etc. I feel the whole reason for displaying fruit pieces on a skewer is to make a beautiful display. I don't believe they can be visually enjoyed laying flat on a serving platter. Instead, why not try using a watermelon as a "basket" in which to stand the skewers up to be enjoyed. Cut the melon in half, be sure to cut a flat surface on the bottom so it can sit straight, then stick your colorful skewers of fruit into the watermelon rind so that it resembles a basket of flowers. It makes a beautiful and inexpensive centerpiece for your buffet or serving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
It is hard to beat fruit. I didn't give it 5 stars because you need a fairly large surface to work on and it is a bit time consuming. Best to chop all the fruit up and put in into bowls and take an assembly line approach to making the skewers. I borrowed this idea from a catered party. Use watermelon on your skewers and take one half of the hollowed out watermelon and turn it upside down and poke all of the skewers into it. Think of it as a big round porcupine when completed. It makes a really pretty centerpiece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Foodmeister
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Wow! A gold star to AnaJ930! What a yummy in the tummy food!!! I just can't believe it! It reminds me of "Fruit Salad" from the Squiggles! Fruit salad, yummy yummy, fruit salad, yummy yummy! Thanks again my hero!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
My grandson is crazy about fruit (he'd rather eat fruit than cookies!) & I wanted to make him a birthday treat so I made him a fruit bouquet. I used a mosaic flower pot, lined w/ cellophane & stuffed w/ wet floral foam. I made flowers out of fresh pineapple rings (you are going to want to slice them thickly or they'll break) & skewered them onto two skewers, adding a honeydew ball center. I threaded grapes on the skewers & filled in the arrangement w/ skewered strawberries, skewered cherry cordial Kisses & chocolate mint. (stuck the mint straight into the floral foam...it made the arrangement smell great!) I "garnished" w/ stick candles ( five because that's how old he is) & a Pixie Stix bow. It was too, too cute! Thanks for a great starting point! BTW I think the skewers laying on the plate is a cute idea too. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I took this recipe to a baby shower and everyone said what a great idea it was, however, I had a problem with the apples and the bananas turning brown within an hour. Any suggestion on how to keep this from happening are welcomed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
My son, Matthew (14), made these for part of a Health class project. He says: this is a more interesting way to serve fresh fruit. (He did refuse to call them Fruity Fun Skewers and settled for Fun Fruit on a Stick). We used Pineapple, strawberries, and cantelope. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States