Fruity Fun Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
My 1st review was suppose to be 4 stars, but I accidently put 2 stars. I apologize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Fruit is always such a great idea for kids, a great alternative to sweets. Finding a fun way to present healthy foods is always useful. Kids just LOVE these skewers and I love how they look like a rainbow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Enjoyed these. I saw this recipe around Mother's Day and my daughter included these in the bruch they made. I suggest to keep away from the younger kids.....the kids 14 and under wasted this great treat; however the adults enjoyed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Fruity Fun Skewers' Haiku: "Can't rate less than 5! Perfect and adorable! I changed up the fruit." Such a charming way to serve fruit! I loved the one reviewer's suggestion about soaking browning-susceptible fruits in lemon-lime soda, but I ended up skipping that type of fruit all-together and went w/ cantaloupe, strawberries, kiwi, pineapple, and red grapes. (Endless possibilities for color combinations depending on a party's theme, or whatever - really a fun way to set out fruit, and these were inhaled by kids and adults alike! Sad to say though, that the fruit dip I served w/ them wasn't touched.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
These are fun! FYI, to stop apples from browning squeeze lemon juice on them before putting them on the skewer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLazyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Very pretty and tasty! I gave it a 4 because it was very time consuming and I wanted to make sure all pieces of fruit were cut approximately the same size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Loved this idea and so did the friends at our neighbor's bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Try adding a marshmallow in the center and on the top Depending on the season you can find fun colors and shapes. I just used marshmallows that were shaped liked stars. My suggestion is to put a sturdy piece of fruit on first. Pineapple is a good choice. I used Kiwi, Cantaloupe, Pineapple, Strawberry, Honeydew Melon, Grapes and even Maraschino Cherries. I created colorful plastic bucket displays by gluing a piece of styrofoam to the inside bottom of the bucket. I usually can put about 6-8 skewers per bucket. This makes for great placement at barbecues or potlucks. We also used the assembly line system to put them together. You can stack them onto a cookie sheet and wrap with foil or plastic wrap and refrigerate until ready to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
So simple, but not to be overlooked. I made these on fancy toothpicks for my first grader's end of year celebration. The kids couldn't get enough! I used strawberries, cantaloupe, grapes, pineapple, and watermelon. I put a mini marshmallow on each and mint leaves on some strawberry-only ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralindhe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springville, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States