Fruity Fun Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I just wanted to add a little tip for keeping the fruit from turning color...a little lemon juice works wonders on apples---I'm not sure if it'll do the same for bananas but worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divinity68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These were so cute, and a nice change from the usual fruit salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ceb00a
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I used grapes, pineapple, strawberries, mango, and Kiwi for very colorful skewers. I assembled the finished skewers in an easter basket garnished with fresh flowers for a super cute display. I used floral foam to stick my skewers in and it helped keep my flowers looking fresh. I assembled the whole thing the night before and it kept well in the fridge for the night. Thanks for a great idea we can easily personalize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceb00a
Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
These are so pretty. A little time-consuming to cut up all the fruit but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Heart Smart, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonny Edmonds

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I make these a lot...easy and yummy! The easiest way to keep your fruits from browning is to place them in a bowl with Sprite (or any lemon/lime soda combo) so that they all get wet and then skewer them. It is a lot better than adding lemon juice because the flavor doesn't seem to sink into the fruit. This trick is also great for fondues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
897 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I was looking for a healthy snack idea for my kids and I found it! They loved these colorful skewers that were easily adapted based on what was available in the winter. I did have to omit strawberries and substitute canned Pineapple and canned peaches for this reason. I put them in the fridge and told my kids to help themselves whenever they wanted. They loved not having to ask permission. Next time I may try adding some protien by adding a cheese cube and a ham cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wineaux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Made this for a bbq and it was a big success.. Kids that didn't usually eat fruit took a stewer... I will definitely do it again in the future... I only used the fruit that didn't turn brown....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Great idea. Easy to make and a fun way to serve fruit at a picnic or bbq. I would not include bananas, as they turn brown by the time you arrive at the event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
These are a great way to serve fruit at parties, and the kids always eat them up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States