Fruity Fun Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
What a beautiful display of colors! This was fun and creative. I used all the fresh fruits I had on hand to spread it out on skewers following the rainbow's spectrum of colors. This is a healthy addition to parties, luau's and get together's considering all the bbq meats, carbs and spreads usually served at a function. Best of all it's hard not to eat fresh, juicy and cold fruit on a hot, humid day like Hawaii!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by beheeka
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This is a great recipe for parties! I used plastic tropical drink stirs from the dollar store for a summer twist. Everybody loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beheeka
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This was a huge hit at a recent BBQ. Because of some of the reviews about the apples and bananas going brown I used kiwis, grapes, cantaloupe, watermelon, strawberries, pineapple and for fun mini marshmallows. The kids are the party loved the skewers and loved having the marshmallows as a treat. Will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
MAde for a wedding shower this past weekend. I love the rainbow look that someone posted a picture of here so I used the same: kiwi, pineapple, canteloupe, strawberries, and grapes. I arranged them on a large round tray with the fruit dip in the middle. People didn't really eat them during the appetizer portion of the evening, but they disappeared around dessert-time. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Great idea. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Made this for a 4th oh july cookout and they were a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I added some pitted fresh cherries that were a big hit. Since it was for a birthday party, I used two round birthday stickers stuck together to cover up the end of the skewer so they were more decorative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Creative, cute and colorful. Also, a great addition to a buffet table where, let's face it, a lot of the other dishes are not so healthy or figure friendly. I used shorter bamboo skewers so they'd hold a more reasonable amount of fruit for one serving and so they'd fit on the plate better. (Wish I would have thought to end each with a grape to cover up the pointy end and make these more attractive...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Fruity - check. Fun - check. Skewer-y - check. Really, who can resist food on a stick? Use any fruit available and watch it disappear. Great option for a buffet instead of a large bowl of fruit salad - serve with several fruit dips on the side for an interesting twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I loved this idea! They were a huge hit at the graduation party I brought them too, all the children there thought they were so fun. I liked they way they looked :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelclrk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States