Fruity Fun Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I make these a lot...easy and yummy! The easiest way to keep your fruits from browning is to place them in a bowl with Sprite (or any lemon/lime soda combo) so that they all get wet and then skewer them. It is a lot better than adding lemon juice because the flavor doesn't seem to sink into the fruit. This trick is also great for fondues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
871 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I was looking for a healthy snack idea for my kids and I found it! They loved these colorful skewers that were easily adapted based on what was available in the winter. I did have to omit strawberries and substitute canned Pineapple and canned peaches for this reason. I put them in the fridge and told my kids to help themselves whenever they wanted. They loved not having to ask permission. Next time I may try adding some protien by adding a cheese cube and a ham cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wineaux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Made this for a bbq and it was a big success.. Kids that didn't usually eat fruit took a stewer... I will definitely do it again in the future... I only used the fruit that didn't turn brown....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Great idea. Easy to make and a fun way to serve fruit at a picnic or bbq. I would not include bananas, as they turn brown by the time you arrive at the event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
These are a great way to serve fruit at parties, and the kids always eat them up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
OMG! I would love to try that receipe when I leave high school and try that at any party. It looks delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was alot of fun to do with my kids! We made an assembley line and we each had to skewer on the fruit! We called it Rainbow Fruit Skewers! I had to help my 2nd youngest to pierce through the pineapple. We used Kiwi, pineapple, canteloupe, strawberries and grapes. I served it with a mixed berry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I hope this is allowed - but a for serving suggestion/ideas take a look at the website for edible arrangements. Same idea there, but MUCH more expensive than doing it yourself like these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Lenser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
My son, Matthew (14), made these for part of a Health class project. He says: this is a more interesting way to serve fresh fruit. (He did refuse to call them Fruity Fun Skewers and settled for Fun Fruit on a Stick). We used Pineapple, strawberries, and cantelope. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I took this recipe to a baby shower and everyone said what a great idea it was, however, I had a problem with the apples and the bananas turning brown within an hour. Any suggestion on how to keep this from happening are welcomed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States