Fruity Fun Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
OMG! I would love to try that receipe when I leave high school and try that at any party. It looks delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was alot of fun to do with my kids! We made an assembley line and we each had to skewer on the fruit! We called it Rainbow Fruit Skewers! I had to help my 2nd youngest to pierce through the pineapple. We used Kiwi, pineapple, canteloupe, strawberries and grapes. I served it with a mixed berry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I hope this is allowed - but a for serving suggestion/ideas take a look at the website for edible arrangements. Same idea there, but MUCH more expensive than doing it yourself like these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
My son, Matthew (14), made these for part of a Health class project. He says: this is a more interesting way to serve fresh fruit. (He did refuse to call them Fruity Fun Skewers and settled for Fun Fruit on a Stick). We used Pineapple, strawberries, and cantelope. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I took this recipe to a baby shower and everyone said what a great idea it was, however, I had a problem with the apples and the bananas turning brown within an hour. Any suggestion on how to keep this from happening are welcomed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
My grandson is crazy about fruit (he'd rather eat fruit than cookies!) & I wanted to make him a birthday treat so I made him a fruit bouquet. I used a mosaic flower pot, lined w/ cellophane & stuffed w/ wet floral foam. I made flowers out of fresh pineapple rings (you are going to want to slice them thickly or they'll break) & skewered them onto two skewers, adding a honeydew ball center. I threaded grapes on the skewers & filled in the arrangement w/ skewered strawberries, skewered cherry cordial Kisses & chocolate mint. (stuck the mint straight into the floral foam...it made the arrangement smell great!) I "garnished" w/ stick candles ( five because that's how old he is) & a Pixie Stix bow. It was too, too cute! Thanks for a great starting point! BTW I think the skewers laying on the plate is a cute idea too. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Foodmeister
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Wow! A gold star to AnaJ930! What a yummy in the tummy food!!! I just can't believe it! It reminds me of "Fruit Salad" from the Squiggles! Fruit salad, yummy yummy, fruit salad, yummy yummy! Thanks again my hero!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
It is hard to beat fruit. I didn't give it 5 stars because you need a fairly large surface to work on and it is a bit time consuming. Best to chop all the fruit up and put in into bowls and take an assembly line approach to making the skewers. I borrowed this idea from a catered party. Use watermelon on your skewers and take one half of the hollowed out watermelon and turn it upside down and poke all of the skewers into it. Think of it as a big round porcupine when completed. It makes a really pretty centerpiece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Fruit skewers make an excellent addition to parties, BBQs, wedding receptions, brunches, etc. I feel the whole reason for displaying fruit pieces on a skewer is to make a beautiful display. I don't believe they can be visually enjoyed laying flat on a serving platter. Instead, why not try using a watermelon as a "basket" in which to stand the skewers up to be enjoyed. Cut the melon in half, be sure to cut a flat surface on the bottom so it can sit straight, then stick your colorful skewers of fruit into the watermelon rind so that it resembles a basket of flowers. It makes a beautiful and inexpensive centerpiece for your buffet or serving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
We made a recipe similar to this for my daughter's bridal shower. We put the skewers into a decorative flower pot (supported by styrofoam disc in pot). Looked fantastic! So many compliments. We served cinnamon fruit dip on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States