Fruity Curry Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
HOLY MOLY. I gave this 4 stars the day before yesterday, thinking it was better than okay, but not outstanding. Well, yesterday, and especially today, the flavors have melded together, the curry flavor has mellowed, the fruity flavors have brightened, it tastes like a great amercian chicken salad for a picnic lunch, but about 20 times better. WOW. TRY THIS RECIPE! But, don't judge until it's had a chance to sit in the fridge for at least 1 day. ..... p.s. I used about 4 Tbs. Miracle Whip Light (25 cals/Tbs) and I don't think it could have tasted better with full fat mayo. To keep the cals to a minimum, remember that 1/2 cup of nuts packs a big calorie punch, so chop them small and reduce the amount to 1/4 or 1/3 cup. And use nuts that are especially healthy, such as walnuts (excellent source of Omega-3 fats), if you want those extra calories to really count for something, nutritionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
456 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Wow, this is my new chicken salad recipe. I am a bit of a chicken salad 'snob' in that I have made so many different varieties and order it very often at restaurants. This version is perfect (as long as you like curry)!! Boiling chicken to perfection is hard to do so here's my 5 cents worth: Cut up your raw chicken in chunks and bring to a boil in chicken broth. Boil for just a couple of minutes and then put a lid on, take off the stove and just let it sit for 15 minutes or so. It cooks slowly like this and results in a perfect texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
337 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Excellent! I modified this recipe by omitting the apple and grapes and using craisins in place of raisins and chunk chicken in a can to save time and it tasted great. The tasted of curry in this really makes this salad and you definitely need to make sure to let the flavors "marinate" for a few hours before serving as the taste is much better then. I have eaten this stuffed into a pita pocket and also rolled into a wheat tortilla wrap with a green salad on the side for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Wonderful! I used a whole rottiserie chicken, increased the mayonnaise to 1 cup, increased the curry to 1 tsp., added craisins instead of raisins and it turned out great. Definitely my favorite. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Easy and delicious - plus it's a great way to use up leftover grilled chicken! I didn't have pecans so I subbed toasted walnuts instead. I used a Granny Smith Apple and red seedless grapes vs. green. I also used dried cranberries vs. raisins. I mixed the dressing in a separate bowl before folding it into the chicken and other ingredients. For the dressing I used 1/2 cup of Hellman's light mayo cut with 1/4 cup of reduced fat sour cream along with the curry and a bit of salt and pepper. It chilled for just a couple of hours and it came out really good. Overall, a great combination of flavors! Especially good on whole grain bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
LOVE this recipe, my favorite of all recipes I have tried at this site. It is healthy, relatively simple to make, can be made ahead of time (although Hubby keeps eating it up). I often substitute depending on what I have on hand without any problems: canned chicken, leftover rotisserie chicken, leftover turkey, fuji apples, walnuts, cranberries, yellow onions. This is one of the few recipes my husband and my own mother has complimented me on more than once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I am always looking for the perfect recipes--those that are keepers that I will make repeatedly. This is one of those recipes. I have made it for two bridal luncheons in the past month and both occasions lead to the remarks home chefs love to hear--"This is the best chicken salad I've ever eaten!" If you make it the day before,I would suggest having a bit more of the curry mayo to freshen it up right before serving. Mine seemed to soak up the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Wonderful chicken salad recipe!! I used boneless chicken breasts that I sprinkled with garlic pepper and seasoned salt and baked for about 45 minutes. I made the recipe exactly as written, and people raved about how good it was. I think this is the best chicken salad I've ever had. This is a new favorite for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I served this recipe on croissants at at women's seminar. They are still talking about how good the sandwiches were. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This recipe is soo good. I served it as a main course on a lettuce leaf with rice and cheese bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seylette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States