Fruity Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I was really looking forward to eating this dish, but the cumin was very overpowering and didnt seem to suit the other flavours. I used whole wheat couscous, craisins & walnuts. For the leftovers, I made another pot of couscous and mixed it in to try and tone downt the cumin. Will make again as I love the overall idea of this recipe, just going to leave out the cumin, hence only 3 stars for the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Excellent! I did follow the advice of other reviewers (thanks by the way) and used orange juice for the liquid in the couscous. I used 1/4 cup additional orange juice so the couscous wouldn't be dry, which was perfect. I also reduced the cumin to 1/2 tsp. and added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. My husband and I both loved this and are looking forward to leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
A very yummy and very simple recipe. I added some diced chicken and used golden raisins instead of the cranberries. It's very easy to make your own variations to this one. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
My family loved it. I did cook the couscous in OJ. I gave it three stars but my family would rate it higher. I really did not care for the cumin, but everyone else loved it. This is dry mixture which it is supposed to be, but it is flavorful. My family even had second helpings the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I love this cold and have simplified it to a quick grab and go lunch. I most often use left over couscous from the night before or make some up and chilled for this purpose. I use whole wheat couscous with either chicken broth or apple juice if I am feeling a bit vegan. I just add a hand full of packaged dried fruit bits and crasins, sprinkle liberally with cumin and done. Do not mix in fruit bits until ready to serve as they tend to get soggy after a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Nice side dish. I made with grilled tuna filets and sugar snap peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Whole family (grandma,kids,hubby)loved this, but I did change this a bit. I used pine nuts instead of the almonds and I cooked the nuts on low heat for about 8 min. I also added a mango. I used cumin and Cinnamon and added the juice from 1 whole orange and served it cold the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I thought this recipe was very good. I used orange juice instead of water to prepare the couscous and deleted the scallions. Also, I used sliced almonds instead of the slivered -- as I thought the texture would go better with everything. Very good - cut the recipe in 1/2 if you are cooking for a smaller family - it makes a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This an easy recipe to make ahead for a potluck or buffet. It did turn out a bit dry, so I added a little to moisten. You could probably add some fresh squeezed orange juice to moisten as well. I added in some ground cinnamon and I would suggest cutting down on the scallions so the onion flavor isn't as strong. Overall, this is an easy, fast, and healthly salad to make esp. if you use whole wheat couscous. It is very pretty and the textures interplay well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This recipe was too dry for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States