Fruity Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I thought this recipe was quick and easy, and very delicious. I am vegetarian and this is a perfect dish to bring to the many vegan/vegetarian potlucks that I attend. Thanks and well done =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Om Shanti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I've been making a recipe very similar to this for years...the twist is that I put in rice vinegar to moisten, and it comes out with a very tart flavor that offsets the fruit and goes great with the almonds. Definitely a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was very tasty. Like a lot of others, i found it to be a little dry so i added just a splash of apple juice to the couscous as i mixed in the rest of the ingredients. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I had some leftover couscous from another recipe (cooked in chicken broth). I added dried Craisins, chopped apricots, dates & toasted pine nuts. In place of cumin, I used Ras el Hanout, a Moroccan spice blend (bought online). Delicious, refreshing, & healthy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was SoOo delicious! I took others' advice and prepared the couscous with o.j. (thanks!) and also substituted walnuts instead of the almonds – YUM! It was a bit dry so I added a little extra virgin olive oil and it came out perfect :) I've been wanting to make this myself so I don't have to keep buying it from Whole Foods' prepared food bar.. (hehe I am very NEW to cooking). So glad I did, it was simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was a great recipe, but it got even better with a few modifications. I added a dash of coriander and a dusting of cinnamon, which really added to the dish. Next time, I think I'll use less scallions (green onions) and add a sauce of sorts, since this is kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
EXCELLENT! So easy to make and so very tasty. Is great on its own or as a side. A great dish to keep in the fridge. I pretty much followed the directions but also used orange juice instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This is really delicious! I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and reduced the cumin by half and used OJ instead of water. I think it might benefit from a little more moisture so maybe next time I'll add a little more liquid. Definitely will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
My husband did not like the recipe, stated it was bland. However, from other couscous recipes I should have used OJ to cook the couscous. This would have added more flavor. I thought it was just pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Great way to spice up couscous! I thought the cranberry and almonds were a great compliment. I used tri-color couscous and it turned into a very colorful dish for presentation. Recipe is easy to make and modify to taste. My modifications: I left out the apricots and I only put in about 1/2 tsp of cumin and that seemed to be a perfect amount. For me, I think a full 1 tsp would have way overpowered the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bode'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States