Fruity Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I thought this recipe was quick and easy, and very delicious. I am vegetarian and this is a perfect dish to bring to the many vegan/vegetarian potlucks that I attend. Thanks and well done =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Om Shanti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I've been making a recipe very similar to this for years...the twist is that I put in rice vinegar to moisten, and it comes out with a very tart flavor that offsets the fruit and goes great with the almonds. Definitely a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was very tasty. Like a lot of others, i found it to be a little dry so i added just a splash of apple juice to the couscous as i mixed in the rest of the ingredients. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I had some leftover couscous from another recipe (cooked in chicken broth). I added dried Craisins, chopped apricots, dates & toasted pine nuts. In place of cumin, I used Ras el Hanout, a Moroccan spice blend (bought online). Delicious, refreshing, & healthy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was SoOo delicious! I took others' advice and prepared the couscous with o.j. (thanks!) and also substituted walnuts instead of the almonds – YUM! It was a bit dry so I added a little extra virgin olive oil and it came out perfect :) I've been wanting to make this myself so I don't have to keep buying it from Whole Foods' prepared food bar.. (hehe I am very NEW to cooking). So glad I did, it was simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was a great recipe, but it got even better with a few modifications. I added a dash of coriander and a dusting of cinnamon, which really added to the dish. Next time, I think I'll use less scallions (green onions) and add a sauce of sorts, since this is kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
EXCELLENT! So easy to make and so very tasty. Is great on its own or as a side. A great dish to keep in the fridge. I pretty much followed the directions but also used orange juice instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This is really delicious! I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and reduced the cumin by half and used OJ instead of water. I think it might benefit from a little more moisture so maybe next time I'll add a little more liquid. Definitely will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
My husband did not like the recipe, stated it was bland. However, from other couscous recipes I should have used OJ to cook the couscous. This would have added more flavor. I thought it was just pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Great way to spice up couscous! I thought the cranberry and almonds were a great compliment. I used tri-color couscous and it turned into a very colorful dish for presentation. Recipe is easy to make and modify to taste. My modifications: I left out the apricots and I only put in about 1/2 tsp of cumin and that seemed to be a perfect amount. For me, I think a full 1 tsp would have way overpowered the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bode'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States