Fruity Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Excellent! I did follow the advice of other reviewers (thanks by the way) and used orange juice for the liquid in the couscous. I used 1/4 cup additional orange juice so the couscous wouldn't be dry, which was perfect. I also reduced the cumin to 1/2 tsp. and added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. My husband and I both loved this and are looking forward to leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This an easy recipe to make ahead for a potluck or buffet. It did turn out a bit dry, so I added a little to moisten. You could probably add some fresh squeezed orange juice to moisten as well. I added in some ground cinnamon and I would suggest cutting down on the scallions so the onion flavor isn't as strong. Overall, this is an easy, fast, and healthly salad to make esp. if you use whole wheat couscous. It is very pretty and the textures interplay well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Simply delicious! Definitely prepare it using orange juice vs. water for more flavor. Like others, I cut the amount of cumin down to 1/2 tsp. and added 1/2 tsp. of curry powder. Instead of dried apricots I added an 11 oz. can of mandarin oranges. I did find it to be a bit dry so I did add a little more orange juice. What a quick and easy side dish that tastes like you spent hours! Tastes great room temp. or chilled - Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
i really liked this. it did need some extra raisins and apricots though. serve it warm, and if there are leftovers, they taste even better the next day. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This is really delicious! I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and reduced the cumin by half and used OJ instead of water. I think it might benefit from a little more moisture so maybe next time I'll add a little more liquid. Definitely will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Whole family (grandma,kids,hubby)loved this, but I did change this a bit. I used pine nuts instead of the almonds and I cooked the nuts on low heat for about 8 min. I also added a mango. I used cumin and Cinnamon and added the juice from 1 whole orange and served it cold the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
A very yummy and very simple recipe. I added some diced chicken and used golden raisins instead of the cranberries. It's very easy to make your own variations to this one. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
We LOVED this! I added Craisins and raisins along with the dried apricots and almonds. I also added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and this was an amazing salad...will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I thought this recipe was very good. I used orange juice instead of water to prepare the couscous and deleted the scallions. Also, I used sliced almonds instead of the slivered -- as I thought the texture would go better with everything. Very good - cut the recipe in 1/2 if you are cooking for a smaller family - it makes a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Great way to spice up couscous! I thought the cranberry and almonds were a great compliment. I used tri-color couscous and it turned into a very colorful dish for presentation. Recipe is easy to make and modify to taste. My modifications: I left out the apricots and I only put in about 1/2 tsp of cumin and that seemed to be a perfect amount. For me, I think a full 1 tsp would have way overpowered the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bode'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States