Fruity Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
i really liked this. it did need some extra raisins and apricots though. serve it warm, and if there are leftovers, they taste even better the next day. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I halved the recipe for the 4 of us. I didn't use the almonds because the rest of the family is not a big nut fan. Mine needed a bit more flavor and the lack of nuts was probably the reason. Since I'll be eating the leftovers, I will probably add some walnuts or almonds and see if that makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I made this recipe couscous and served it with a pumkin tagine with honeyed prunes. It was absolutely delish. i heeded the advice and only added one teaspoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
We LOVED this! I added Craisins and raisins along with the dried apricots and almonds. I also added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and this was an amazing salad...will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This recipe was too dry for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This an easy recipe to make ahead for a potluck or buffet. It did turn out a bit dry, so I added a little to moisten. You could probably add some fresh squeezed orange juice to moisten as well. I added in some ground cinnamon and I would suggest cutting down on the scallions so the onion flavor isn't as strong. Overall, this is an easy, fast, and healthly salad to make esp. if you use whole wheat couscous. It is very pretty and the textures interplay well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I thought this recipe was very good. I used orange juice instead of water to prepare the couscous and deleted the scallions. Also, I used sliced almonds instead of the slivered -- as I thought the texture would go better with everything. Very good - cut the recipe in 1/2 if you are cooking for a smaller family - it makes a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Whole family (grandma,kids,hubby)loved this, but I did change this a bit. I used pine nuts instead of the almonds and I cooked the nuts on low heat for about 8 min. I also added a mango. I used cumin and Cinnamon and added the juice from 1 whole orange and served it cold the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Nice side dish. I made with grilled tuna filets and sugar snap peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I love this cold and have simplified it to a quick grab and go lunch. I most often use left over couscous from the night before or make some up and chilled for this purpose. I use whole wheat couscous with either chicken broth or apple juice if I am feeling a bit vegan. I just add a hand full of packaged dried fruit bits and crasins, sprinkle liberally with cumin and done. Do not mix in fruit bits until ready to serve as they tend to get soggy after a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States