Fruity Cookie Press Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Way too much flour, most of my cookie press designs would not work with such a thick dough, and I actually bruised my thumbs, trying to press these out. I looke at my other cookie press recipies and most call for about 2 to 2 1/2 cups flour NOT 4 CUPS. I will try these again with less flour. Revised on 12-24-03: I made these again today and they turned out great. I used black cherry jello and increased the butter to 2 cups and added another egg. I kept flour the same. All the cookie press shapes turned out. I only baked for about 6 and a half minutes and they turned nice and golden brown on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was a GREAT recipe, I used the suggested changes from the message board. I used 2 cups margarine, 2 eggs and 4oz of jello for the cookies (boosts the flavor) & 2 oz for sprinkling. They turned out wonderful and after putting them in an airtight container have remained soft and delicious for 2 days. My kids & I can't wait to try other flavours (we used Orange)! Thanks for the recipe and the tips everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I give this recipe three stars for creativity. It is worth making, but not according to the given directions. I took this recipe and used 3 1/4 C flour, added 1/4 C butter and added an extra egg. They then pressed well and baked well, and had a nice mild flavor. Don't overbake them though. 8 minutes is all you need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I remember my Mom making these cookies when I was growing up. I made the mistake of following some of the other reviewers suggestions and they turned out crappy. The second time I made these I followed the recipe (I used butter instead of margarine)and they turned out perfect. I did bake them at 400 and I took them out at 6 minutes and they were perfect doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dandylynes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
These cookies were awesome! I only used 3 cups of flour and changed butter to 2 cups. I put the dough in the fridge for 1 hour and rolled them to cut out shamrocks for St Patrick's Day. I used the lime flavored gelatin powder which gave it the green color. Perfect touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilonka Gangadin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I have been making these cookies for over 40 years. My recipe says to bake them at 375 degrees. The time given is too long. I try 6 minutes, and then check cookies, adding more time if necessary--usually 50 seconds to 1 minute. The dough is too stiff using 4 cups of flour. I use 3 1/2 cups. The butter needs to be soft. Plus, you cannot mix them very easily unless you use your hands. Believe me, this works. There is a knack to using a cookie press. Not every cookie comes out right. I put the ones that don't back in bowl and continue with the next one. You need to be patient, but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
My mom used this recipe for years before I saw it here. She always used starwberry, and I never thought that the 3 oz. did the flavor any justice. Now that it is my turn for this recipe, I mix everything together except the gelatin. I split the whole batch three ways and use half a package of lemon, orange, and strawberry gelatin, adding a touch of lukewarm tap water. Before baking, I sprinkle a little gelatin on top. They come out with a bang of fruit flavor and wonderful coloring, and there's enough for two batches!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I don't know if I did something wrong or what, but with the 4 cups of flour, the dough came out so hard I couldn't FORCE it thru the cookie press. I finally gave up and rolled some into balls and used a clay cookie stamp on them. Baked, they could have been used for skeet targets. Are you SURE it calls for all that flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I got my cookie press today in the mail and jumped on the chance to try this recipe! It is great! Was quick and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
I used 3 1/2 cups flour instead of 4 and I had to add a little water to get the dough a little easier to work with. I also used orange jello and a teaspoon of orange extract. The flavour is very good. The dough was hard to get thru the cookie press but my 4 1/2 year old son and I stuck with it and it was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States