Fruity Cookie Press Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Way too much flour, most of my cookie press designs would not work with such a thick dough, and I actually bruised my thumbs, trying to press these out. I looke at my other cookie press recipies and most call for about 2 to 2 1/2 cups flour NOT 4 CUPS. I will try these again with less flour. Revised on 12-24-03: I made these again today and they turned out great. I used black cherry jello and increased the butter to 2 cups and added another egg. I kept flour the same. All the cookie press shapes turned out. I only baked for about 6 and a half minutes and they turned nice and golden brown on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was a GREAT recipe, I used the suggested changes from the message board. I used 2 cups margarine, 2 eggs and 4oz of jello for the cookies (boosts the flavor) & 2 oz for sprinkling. They turned out wonderful and after putting them in an airtight container have remained soft and delicious for 2 days. My kids & I can't wait to try other flavours (we used Orange)! Thanks for the recipe and the tips everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I give this recipe three stars for creativity. It is worth making, but not according to the given directions. I took this recipe and used 3 1/4 C flour, added 1/4 C butter and added an extra egg. They then pressed well and baked well, and had a nice mild flavor. Don't overbake them though. 8 minutes is all you need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I remember my Mom making these cookies when I was growing up. I made the mistake of following some of the other reviewers suggestions and they turned out crappy. The second time I made these I followed the recipe (I used butter instead of margarine)and they turned out perfect. I did bake them at 400 and I took them out at 6 minutes and they were perfect doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dandylynes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I have been making these cookies for over 40 years. My recipe says to bake them at 375 degrees. The time given is too long. I try 6 minutes, and then check cookies, adding more time if necessary--usually 50 seconds to 1 minute. The dough is too stiff using 4 cups of flour. I use 3 1/2 cups. The butter needs to be soft. Plus, you cannot mix them very easily unless you use your hands. Believe me, this works. There is a knack to using a cookie press. Not every cookie comes out right. I put the ones that don't back in bowl and continue with the next one. You need to be patient, but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
These cookies were awesome! I only used 3 cups of flour and changed butter to 2 cups. I put the dough in the fridge for 1 hour and rolled them to cut out shamrocks for St Patrick's Day. I used the lime flavored gelatin powder which gave it the green color. Perfect touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilonka Gangadin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
My mom used this recipe for years before I saw it here. She always used starwberry, and I never thought that the 3 oz. did the flavor any justice. Now that it is my turn for this recipe, I mix everything together except the gelatin. I split the whole batch three ways and use half a package of lemon, orange, and strawberry gelatin, adding a touch of lukewarm tap water. Before baking, I sprinkle a little gelatin on top. They come out with a bang of fruit flavor and wonderful coloring, and there's enough for two batches!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I don't know if I did something wrong or what, but with the 4 cups of flour, the dough came out so hard I couldn't FORCE it thru the cookie press. I finally gave up and rolled some into balls and used a clay cookie stamp on them. Baked, they could have been used for skeet targets. Are you SURE it calls for all that flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I read the reviews and tweeked the recipe a bit. I used 2 sticks of crisco baking sticks instead of margarine, 3 1/4 cup of flour, 2 packages of jello. No problem with feeding it through cookie press. If you want you can refrigerate it but not needed. I put in fridge for a bit to do some other kind of cookies then took it out and ran a beater through it and dough was fine. After placing cookies on pan I sprinkled some jello on top. They are not too sweet but very easy for a beginner. We used Island Pineapple and Apricot in the dough and sprinkled with Strawberry/Banana. Cook for only 6 min and will be just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sher_bear_30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I modified this recipe a bit after reading the other reviews. Here's what I used - 2 cups margarine (4 sticks, creamed) 3.5 Cups Flour 1 tsp baking powder 4 oz gelatin (strawberry) 1 cup white granulated sugar 1.5 tsp vanilla extract (imitation) 2 eggs A smidge of gelatin powder on top of cookies First off let me apologize, in case perhaps I did it wrong and that's why they came out the way they did. They came out EDIBLE, good tasting. Perhaps someone could tell me what I did wrong or if they were supposed to come out like this. I tried them at a bunch of different cooking times, but they always came out looking BAD. I made so much today (with just one batch) and I cannot even serve them to anyone. Therefore I give this a 2. If there is something I did wrong, please let me know. I'd love to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlethings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States