Fruity Cookie Press Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Way too much flour, most of my cookie press designs would not work with such a thick dough, and I actually bruised my thumbs, trying to press these out. I looke at my other cookie press recipies and most call for about 2 to 2 1/2 cups flour NOT 4 CUPS. I will try these again with less flour. Revised on 12-24-03: I made these again today and they turned out great. I used black cherry jello and increased the butter to 2 cups and added another egg. I kept flour the same. All the cookie press shapes turned out. I only baked for about 6 and a half minutes and they turned nice and golden brown on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was a GREAT recipe, I used the suggested changes from the message board. I used 2 cups margarine, 2 eggs and 4oz of jello for the cookies (boosts the flavor) & 2 oz for sprinkling. They turned out wonderful and after putting them in an airtight container have remained soft and delicious for 2 days. My kids & I can't wait to try other flavours (we used Orange)! Thanks for the recipe and the tips everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I give this recipe three stars for creativity. It is worth making, but not according to the given directions. I took this recipe and used 3 1/4 C flour, added 1/4 C butter and added an extra egg. They then pressed well and baked well, and had a nice mild flavor. Don't overbake them though. 8 minutes is all you need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I remember my Mom making these cookies when I was growing up. I made the mistake of following some of the other reviewers suggestions and they turned out crappy. The second time I made these I followed the recipe (I used butter instead of margarine)and they turned out perfect. I did bake them at 400 and I took them out at 6 minutes and they were perfect doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dandylynes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
These cookies were awesome! I only used 3 cups of flour and changed butter to 2 cups. I put the dough in the fridge for 1 hour and rolled them to cut out shamrocks for St Patrick's Day. I used the lime flavored gelatin powder which gave it the green color. Perfect touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I have been making these cookies for over 40 years. My recipe says to bake them at 375 degrees. The time given is too long. I try 6 minutes, and then check cookies, adding more time if necessary--usually 50 seconds to 1 minute. The dough is too stiff using 4 cups of flour. I use 3 1/2 cups. The butter needs to be soft. Plus, you cannot mix them very easily unless you use your hands. Believe me, this works. There is a knack to using a cookie press. Not every cookie comes out right. I put the ones that don't back in bowl and continue with the next one. You need to be patient, but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
My mom used this recipe for years before I saw it here. She always used starwberry, and I never thought that the 3 oz. did the flavor any justice. Now that it is my turn for this recipe, I mix everything together except the gelatin. I split the whole batch three ways and use half a package of lemon, orange, and strawberry gelatin, adding a touch of lukewarm tap water. Before baking, I sprinkle a little gelatin on top. They come out with a bang of fruit flavor and wonderful coloring, and there's enough for two batches!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I don't know if I did something wrong or what, but with the 4 cups of flour, the dough came out so hard I couldn't FORCE it thru the cookie press. I finally gave up and rolled some into balls and used a clay cookie stamp on them. Baked, they could have been used for skeet targets. Are you SURE it calls for all that flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I got my cookie press today in the mail and jumped on the chance to try this recipe! It is great! Was quick and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
I used 3 1/2 cups flour instead of 4 and I had to add a little water to get the dough a little easier to work with. I also used orange jello and a teaspoon of orange extract. The flavour is very good. The dough was hard to get thru the cookie press but my 4 1/2 year old son and I stuck with it and it was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States