Fruity Cookie Press Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I used butter and sugar-free jello. With only 3 cups of flour, it went through the press fine. I think I will divide it in two and use a different box of jello on each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
The first time I made this recipe I used orange jello. The cookies tasted good but I was unable to put them through my cookie press. I used 3.5 cups of flour because the other reviews said the extra flour messed up the dough. I don't make a ton of cookies and have never used a cookie press before now. I looked up how to use it and found out my cookie press only worked on a certain type of dough. I just rolled the dough into balls and it took about 16 minutes to cook. Not the best cookies I've ever had but still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
The first time I tried this using other recommendations in the reviews, it didn't work at all. The only change I did was use unsalted butter (it's what I had at the time) and halved the recipe so I could make another flavor. It was perfect the 2nd time around. The time was only half in my oven. I'll still keep the 5 star rating because the rest was fine. I will be making this again. Thank you! Oh, on 400, the cookies only took 6 mins to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Point Of Rocks, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I made 2 batches of this recipe. one with the suggestions and one following the recipe direct. i found following the direct recipe worked better. the dough is real stiff, but it wouldn't work in the cookie press other wise. tasty cookies. I made one with strawberry banana gelatin and one with berry blue. the berry ones had a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
My Mom used this recipe about 40 years ago and I LOVED it. I am sooooo thrilled to find it again after all this time!!!! Thank you SO much this website is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I followed it exactly but the dough would not have made very good press cookies. I spooned them on the pan and took them out a little doughy. Blueberry. Yum! Dipped them in syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I love the idea. I used 2 cups of butter and two eggs, but split the recipe in half to use two different flavors of gelatin. In each I used a whole 3 oz package. The flavor was obvious but not overpowering. The changes added worked great with my cookie press, and I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I read the reviews and tweeked the recipe a bit. I used 2 sticks of crisco baking sticks instead of margarine, 3 1/4 cup of flour, 2 packages of jello. No problem with feeding it through cookie press. If you want you can refrigerate it but not needed. I put in fridge for a bit to do some other kind of cookies then took it out and ran a beater through it and dough was fine. After placing cookies on pan I sprinkled some jello on top. They are not too sweet but very easy for a beginner. We used Island Pineapple and Apricot in the dough and sprinkled with Strawberry/Banana. Cook for only 6 min and will be just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sher_bear_30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I have been making these cookies for over 40 years. My recipe says to bake them at 375 degrees. The time given is too long. I try 6 minutes, and then check cookies, adding more time if necessary--usually 50 seconds to 1 minute. The dough is too stiff using 4 cups of flour. I use 3 1/2 cups. The butter needs to be soft. Plus, you cannot mix them very easily unless you use your hands. Believe me, this works. There is a knack to using a cookie press. Not every cookie comes out right. I put the ones that don't back in bowl and continue with the next one. You need to be patient, but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I modified this recipe a bit after reading the other reviews. Here's what I used - 2 cups margarine (4 sticks, creamed) 3.5 Cups Flour 1 tsp baking powder 4 oz gelatin (strawberry) 1 cup white granulated sugar 1.5 tsp vanilla extract (imitation) 2 eggs A smidge of gelatin powder on top of cookies First off let me apologize, in case perhaps I did it wrong and that's why they came out the way they did. They came out EDIBLE, good tasting. Perhaps someone could tell me what I did wrong or if they were supposed to come out like this. I tried them at a bunch of different cooking times, but they always came out looking BAD. I made so much today (with just one batch) and I cannot even serve them to anyone. Therefore I give this a 2. If there is something I did wrong, please let me know. I'd love to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlethings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States