Fruity Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This is an awesome cake. We really enjoyed the blend of favors. To reduce the fat, I cut back the oil to 1/2 cup and replaced it with 1 1/4 c. plain yogurt. I also didn't have blueberries, so I used frozen saskatoons (native to our area)instead. I also cut back the sugar by 1/3 to 1/2 as we prefer cakes that are less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
With minor variations, this is the classic Hummingbird Cake – and it’s a good variation at that! I liked so much about this recipe – the addition of blueberries, dicing rather than mashing the bananas and the additions of both nutmeg and cinnamon. Coating the pan with ground coconut was interesting, however, I didn’t do that as I was using specialty cakelet pans which didn’t make that particularly practical. While I wouldn’t say the cake is greasy, I do think reducing the oil by 1/4 c. wouldn’t hurt. This cake is rich, heavy and sweet, so in my view no icing is necessary – in fact, I would recommend against it. A simple dusting of powdered sugar is all this needs; although a very runny powdered sugar glaze just to shine it up would be nice too. (Note: My cakelet pans were 6 (one cup) individual molds. I used two of these pans for one recipe yielding, then, 12 individual cakelets. I baked them at 325 degrees for about 30 minutes, covered with foil toward the end of baking to prevent overbrowning)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Oh so good. Very moist. I didn't bother with processing the coconut. I just added it along with the fruit and nuts. This is a definite make again recipe. I'm anxious to try it with other fruits such as mixed berries, nectarines or cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2000
This is a nice moist cake. Couple of things though...the author never mentions when to add in the pineapple and it only took about 1 hour to bake in my oven. I love the blueberries and bananas, but I think the next time I make it I will use applesauce instead of pineapple. Just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Love, love, love this cake! I didn't change a thing except toasted the pecans 1st. Added the leftover coconut powder to the batter. This is very moist & very delicious. Thanks Danapiana!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
Very good! I was short on cooking oil so used half cup melted butter and half cup of oil. I cut the sugar back to 1 and a half cups. The cake took 60 minutes to bake in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is very good, thank you! I think I will definitely sub applesauce for oil next time--I just don't have applesauce in the house right now. This makes a LARGE bunt cake--it really fills up the pan. I was worried it would spill over, but it didnt'. It rose over hte pan but no batter spilled in the oven, so that's all good. This cake ends up very crispy on the outside and very moist and fruity on the inside. It's very flavorful--my kind of cake (I'm picky--I prefer cakes with fruity flavors). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
A flavorful, light and tasty Bundt! The only change that I made was 1 cup oil and substitute the extra half a cup with applesauce. I really liked the touch of coconut "powder" used to grease the pan! I had no trouble getting this cake out of the pan. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goose1128

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I made this for my daughter's first birthday and it was wonderful. We used the castle bundt pan and decorated with candies and homemade vanilla frosting. The pecans were omitted, plus I mixed the coconut flakes in with the rest of the batter. Thanks for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
I made this for a friend at work, for her birthday. Usually chocolate is the request but this time she asked for cake with fruit so I found this recipe, baked it last night for the first time and was enjoyed by all today at break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States