Fruity Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very good! A very moist cake. It was eaten quickly. I altered it of course because my picky family does not enjoy coconut or nuts. I subbed one cup of applesauce for oil and just put in 1/2 cup of oil. I added some chopped frozen strawberries and we liked that. I did cut down the sugar 1/2 cup in the batter but sprinkled some powdered sugar on the top of the cake. We loved all the fruit in it. It was a hit! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This cake was a real hit. I served it at a dinner party along with bakery treats - which were passed over in favour of this cake. Next time I'll reduce the oil and replace some of it with applesauce - just to be a little healthier. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
very moist. I loved this cake ( and I really don't like cake that much ) The only reason I gave this a 4 star is because of my Husband's input. He would liked to have tasted more coconut. I did use half of the oil suggested and the other half applesauce. The cake held very well for several days ( there is only two of use to consume this ) Please do try this recipe...a nice mix of fruits and a moist cake indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Yummy! Too lazy to process coconut so just threw it into the mix and floured the pan instead. Bananas were very overripe, so mashed instead of diced. Subbed 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup of the oil. Only took about 1 hr to bake in my oven. Even with changes, still delicious. Next time, might even try reducing sugar, not because of taste, just trying to cut down on sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
With minor variations, this is the classic Hummingbird Cake – and it’s a good variation at that! I liked so much about this recipe – the addition of blueberries, dicing rather than mashing the bananas and the additions of both nutmeg and cinnamon. Coating the pan with ground coconut was interesting, however, I didn’t do that as I was using specialty cakelet pans which didn’t make that particularly practical. While I wouldn’t say the cake is greasy, I do think reducing the oil by 1/4 c. wouldn’t hurt. This cake is rich, heavy and sweet, so in my view no icing is necessary – in fact, I would recommend against it. A simple dusting of powdered sugar is all this needs; although a very runny powdered sugar glaze just to shine it up would be nice too. (Note: My cakelet pans were 6 (one cup) individual molds. I used two of these pans for one recipe yielding, then, 12 individual cakelets. I baked them at 325 degrees for about 30 minutes, covered with foil toward the end of baking to prevent overbrowning)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Fantastic. I am a gourmet cook/baker. I made this cake for company, and they loved it too. I did, however, make a change. I felt 1-1/2 c. of oil seemed like too much, so I added 1 c. of canola oil and 1/2 c. softened butter. I added 1/2 c. of flaked coconut to the buttered bundt pan (not powdered), and I added another 1/3 c. of flaked coconut to the batter. I also increased the baking soda by 1/4 tsp, and sprinkled with powdered sugar after the cake cooled for about 15 mins. out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is very good, thank you! I think I will definitely sub applesauce for oil next time--I just don't have applesauce in the house right now. This makes a LARGE bunt cake--it really fills up the pan. I was worried it would spill over, but it didnt'. It rose over hte pan but no batter spilled in the oven, so that's all good. This cake ends up very crispy on the outside and very moist and fruity on the inside. It's very flavorful--my kind of cake (I'm picky--I prefer cakes with fruity flavors). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
It was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This tastes great! It is more like a bread than a cake, though. Like other reviewers, I added the coconut to the batter instead of making a powder for the outside of the cake. I will add more coconut next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULI
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I reduced oil to half and change the pineapple for apple puree, this was my daughter's birthday cake, everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States