Fruited Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
substituted mandarin oranges and some orange zest. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
We used this recipe for my wife's ice cream social at church, with organic whole milk, two cups of ripe bananas and a cup of strawberries. Won first place unanimously (six judges), beating out nine competitors! Thanks, Nell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
It had a very nice flavor but came out grainy and icy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I liked this recipe because it was so much easier than the custard-based ones we usually use -- this took literally two minutes to mix up and toss into the ice cream maker -- and it was really tasty as well. However, it's not quite as good as the more labor-intensive recipes; leftovers stored in the freezer will be a little grainy. Two recommendations: one, half the recipe, because the leftovers don't taste as good as the original portion. Also, puree or mash your berries instead of chopping them. As another reviewer pointed out, the texture of the frozen fruit bits is a bit off-putting. But on the whole this is really worth trying, especially if you want some home-made ice cream at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was a great find! My 7-year-old son and I wanted to make some ice cream together in our electric ice cream maker. Most of the recipes I had used before involved eggs, double-boilers, and more cooking than I wanted to get into with him "helping" me. This was the easiest! We both had a great time. We used roughly pureed peaches, and 1T almond extract in place of one of the Tablespoons of vanilla extract. It took a little longer to harden, but it was worth the wait, and was so good! Great fun to do with him, so we plan on trying new variations together over the summer! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe. I have made many variations and all have come out great. I always cut the recipe in half to fit my cuisinart. I have omitted the fruit and used instant espresso powder and mini choc chips. I have also made chocolate by melting a 5 oz bar of dark chocolate and mixing it with the condensed milk before adding the other ingredients. This is a great and easy standard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Wow! ***BUT!*** Know that you can EASILY make or break this ice cream recipe with the quality of the fruit you use! I highly recommend that you do not use frozen/bagged fruit or imported fruit because the flavor will be SEVERELY lacking. I used fresh, local, organic, juicy, super sweet and shiny, bright red strawberries-pulsed in the food processor a few times into a pulpy, chunky goodness- and added a touch of sugar, omitted the salt- TRUST ME! And this came out phenomenal! S'berry ice cream is hubby's favorite and he LOVED it! Me too! Yum! Thanks for the great strawberry ice cream recipe! What a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was ok. Next tine I would omit the salt and mascaerate or purée the strawberries first. The big chunks of strawberry turned into chunks of ice when frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Best homemade ice cream ever! The lack of sugar meant no grainy texture that some other recipes have. I halved the recipe to fit the ice cream maker attachment for my Kitchenaid and it was perfect. Will make many, many more times with all kinds of variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States