Fruited Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Best homemade ice cream ever! The lack of sugar meant no grainy texture that some other recipes have. I halved the recipe to fit the ice cream maker attachment for my Kitchenaid and it was perfect. Will make many, many more times with all kinds of variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Great easy recipe that I'll be sure to try again. Loved the flavour but found the chopped strawberries were too chunky. I'll either puree them next time, or will simply serve them on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I've been making this recipe for 5 years. It has yet to fail me. I've done many variations including replacing the fruit with girl scout cookies and most recently grapenuts. Every batch is perfectly delicious. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 207alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This ice cream was delicious and easy to make. I used bing cherries and almond extract in place of the strawberries and vanilla. Half the recipe is about right for my 1.5 quart ice cream maker. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was fast and easy - no waiting fo it to rest overnight or cooking on the stove. Tastes great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I love that this ice cream doesn't need to be cooked! I've made it now with strawberry and peach and it's equally delicious and creamy either way. I like my ice cream more fruit and less cream, so I increased the fruit and decreased the milk, used fat free sweetened condensed milk and it was perfect for our tastes. Also, when the leftovers (if there are any!) are frozen, the ice cream doesn't thaw from rock hard to soupy like many recipes do, but remains creamy. I think I've found my new favorite ice cream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pcpoindexter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I used whole milk (recipe doesn't actually specify fat percentage to use) and this had just the right amount of creaminess for me, not overly rich. I think using anything less than full fat milk would yield an 'icier' texture. I followed the recipe save for pureeing my strawberries instead of chopping them. I made sure to use super ripe, sweet berries. The amount of vanilla extract called for is perfect and added a beautiful element of flavor that matched perfectly with the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
We used peaches and it was really good. Not enough peach flavor though. I would probably double the peaches next time. It might also be good with almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is just like my Daddy's recipe. I couldn't get him on the phone to get amounts, so here I am. We make ours with mashed bananas. Delicious! I do love the egg/custard ice creams you cook on the stove first, but this one's so much easier and less heavy which is perfect for hot summer days. P.S. If you omit the vanilla, you get a "sweet cream" flavored ice cream for those that don't love vanilla. The sweetened condensed milk adds the perfect amount of sugar, so you don't miss the flavoring that much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Very creamy & delicious! Just to note: we didn't have enough fresh strawberries so we used some frozen, too. The frozen are noticeably "frozen" in the finished product - with the fresh tasting better and having a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States