Fruited Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. Once summer hits, this becomes a staple in our house. My favorite version is with strawberries & mini chocolate chips...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
WOW! Great ice cream recipe. I've got cantaloupes growing all over the place, so I thought cantaloupe ice cream would be an interesting version of this recipe. I chopped the cantaloupe and added 1 cup of skim milk to the blender. It purred up nicely! Since I halved the recipe, I ended up using 5cups (with the 1 cup skim milk included) cantaloupe puree, another 1 cup skim milk, 2 cups heavy cream, 1 tbsp vanilla a pinch of salt and 1 (14oz) can sweetened condensed milk. Made sure it all all blended well and put the mix in my small ice cream maker. 20 mins later we had the most flavorful cantaloupe ice cream! I picked the fruit straight off the vine and within an hour had ice cream. Dang good ice cream, too. WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanJanRice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
If you're going to make this, you better like the taste of sweetened condensed milk because it is really strong in this recipe. It even overpowered blackberries, which are a very flavorful fruit. It's also more like ice milk than ice cream. Maybe needs half and half instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Yum, Yum, Yum! This was such an easy recipe! I halfed the recipe due to that it really made a lot-now I wished I'd made the entire amount and put it in the freezer for summer! The only thing I did different in this recipe is took the advice of others: I wanted creamy strawberry and not chuncks in the ice cream, so I put my strawberries in a pot over low heat, added a few tablespoons of sugar and smashed the strawberries with a fork, this made them more pureed and that is what I wanted in my ice cream. It worked great! It was so creamy-thanks for a great recipe that I will for sure make again this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDI12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mooresboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This ice cream was simple to make, and has a wonderful flavor! We made it with peaches, and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This is a great basic ice cream recipe. I used one 16 oz package of frozen strawberries, thawed and crushed, instead of the fresh. I also wanted to cut back on the fat so I used skim milk and half and half instead of the whole milk and cream, and everyone loved it. I'm sure that it wasn't as creamy as it would have been otherwise, but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEEW17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friona, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMALEIGH
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
After making this a second time, I had to add one more star to my previous rating. I used 4 cups of fresh, very ripe peaches from my father-in-law's trees. I mashed them pretty thoroughly to avoid the icy chunks of fruit I encountered the first time around. I followed the recipe pretty closely, but I did sub almost 2 cups of half and half for some of the whole milk, as I needed to use it before it expired. It was very good the first day, but did get pretty hard in the icebox overnight. This is pretty typical for homemade ice cream, and I kick myself every time I forget adding a little vodka (or peach schnapps, maybe?) to prevent it. I just removed the ice cream from the freezer a few minutes before serving. I'd like a little more peach flavor, so I'll add a little more fruit next time, and maybee a little extra sugar. I also used one tablespoon of vanilla and one teaspoon of almond flavoring. The hint of almond was nice, but I might try one and a half tablespoons of vanilla next time. In summary, this is a very easy recipe that yields pretty good ice cream. This would be a great choice for anyone new to making ice cream at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Definitely not enough strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I made this twice so far , i love recipes that allow for creation a bit . First was with 'Triple Berries " (frozen) , they were raspberries , blueberries and marionberries .They gave the ice cream a wonderful purple color .The second time was with (frozen again ) strawberries , and i added a few drops of red and a drop of blue food dye to give the color . Everyone who tasted them loved them , there's only few things i want to say : I have the Cuisinart Ice cream maker , 1 1/2 quart , i halved the recipe the first time to fit in it but it was still a little too much mixture for the machine to handle and the berries ( i hadn't chopped throughly because i wanted texture in the ice cream )kind of clogged it , unfortunately i didn't remember this next time and did the same mistake . So the the walls get frozen but inside isn't churned perfectly . Just a reminder, maybe i should do 1/3 of the recipe next time and chop the fruit throughly . Also , the batch with strawberries came out better (sweeter and creamier) and i think that's due to the tartness of the other berries maybe ? I'm thinking about making this with pie filling as well , (peaches ?) and i will update my review then . I agree the texture is more icy then creamy , but i let the ice cream sit on the countertop for 5 mins before serving it , that mostly solves that problem . And although i half everything else when making it , i keep the berries ( fruit) the same amount and it hasn't hurt the ice cream so far . I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
My husand just loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States