Fruited Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I've been making this recipe for 5 years. It has yet to fail me. I've done many variations including replacing the fruit with girl scout cookies and most recently grapenuts. Every batch is perfectly delicious. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 207alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This ice cream was delicious and easy to make. I used bing cherries and almond extract in place of the strawberries and vanilla. Half the recipe is about right for my 1.5 quart ice cream maker. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was fast and easy - no waiting fo it to rest overnight or cooking on the stove. Tastes great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I love that this ice cream doesn't need to be cooked! I've made it now with strawberry and peach and it's equally delicious and creamy either way. I like my ice cream more fruit and less cream, so I increased the fruit and decreased the milk, used fat free sweetened condensed milk and it was perfect for our tastes. Also, when the leftovers (if there are any!) are frozen, the ice cream doesn't thaw from rock hard to soupy like many recipes do, but remains creamy. I think I've found my new favorite ice cream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pcpoindexter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I used whole milk (recipe doesn't actually specify fat percentage to use) and this had just the right amount of creaminess for me, not overly rich. I think using anything less than full fat milk would yield an 'icier' texture. I followed the recipe save for pureeing my strawberries instead of chopping them. I made sure to use super ripe, sweet berries. The amount of vanilla extract called for is perfect and added a beautiful element of flavor that matched perfectly with the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
We used peaches and it was really good. Not enough peach flavor though. I would probably double the peaches next time. It might also be good with almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is just like my Daddy's recipe. I couldn't get him on the phone to get amounts, so here I am. We make ours with mashed bananas. Delicious! I do love the egg/custard ice creams you cook on the stove first, but this one's so much easier and less heavy which is perfect for hot summer days. P.S. If you omit the vanilla, you get a "sweet cream" flavored ice cream for those that don't love vanilla. The sweetened condensed milk adds the perfect amount of sugar, so you don't miss the flavoring that much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Very creamy & delicious! Just to note: we didn't have enough fresh strawberries so we used some frozen, too. The frozen are noticeably "frozen" in the finished product - with the fresh tasting better and having a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
While I make ice cream often, this is the first time I made it with sweetened condensed milk and with a higher proportion of milk to heavy cream. It most likely will also be the last time, as the quality of the ice cream suffers for it. Unlike the fresh dairy taste, richness, creaminess and velvety-smooth mouth feel you get from using using heavy cream and half-and-half or milk, this is more like ice milk and has somewhat of an icy graininess to it by comparison. Also, I found the little frozen chunks of fruit (I used strawberries) and the "canned" taste of the sweetened condensed milk unappealing - and I can think of nothing to support using it. This experiment with making ice cream with the condensed milk proved to me once again that using fresh ingredients is almost always best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This turned out so amazing!! Everyone at the 4th of July party I made it for loved it. It was a mixture of frozen yogurt and sorbet. I put mine in the stand mixture to mix the ingredients together before I put it in the ice cream maker and that made the ice cream really creamy. I also will puree 1/2 the strawberries before I put it in. The maker didnt like all the big chunks of strawberries very much and I chopped them up pretty small. Overall a must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States