Fruited Curry Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
The reason I am giving this 4 stars instead of 5 is this: 1) Too much onion. I LOVE onion and it was kind of a lot. 2) it tastes better the next day! Everytime I make this all I want to do is eat all of it but it really is better the next day!!!! I am making this for a bridal shower next month so I'll update and let you know how everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Wow. What flavor and variety of textures. The only change I made was 1/2 mayo and 1/2 yogurt to reduce the calories. I use a cream style yogurt so it is pretty thick. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I made this recipe for my sister's baby shower with the following changes... I used halved seedless red grapes, Craisens, and green apple. I added 2 teaspoons of white wine vinegar to really meld all the flavors. I also used fat free mayonnaise because the curry is a great spice blend for masking the unpleasantness of low fat or fat free mayo and make the dish virtually fat free. This was a great dish to make the day before. My only recommendation would be to cut the onion a bit to please a larger crowd. I personally thought it came out great and got many compliments but I could see it wasn't for everyone. I also had a lot left over. Curry isn't for everyone so if preparing it for a large crowd you may want to have an alternative dish for non-curry fans. Other than that I thought it was a great spin on chicken salad and if you are a curry fan, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's Cookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I was disappointed with this, and was very surprised, since I usually love any type of chicken salad. The flavor was bland, even though I added more curry and black pepper. I did not use onions, since my husband hates them, so maybe they would have helped. I also used a food processor to chop the celery and apples, so maybe the pieces were too small? I'm not sure. I kept the salad in the fridge for a day like you're supposed to, but it didn't seem to bring out much flavor. I think next time I would leave the grapes out too. I didn't much care for them being in there. All in all, I would prefer a more flavorful salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helpmecook82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Very tasty and you can flex the fruits and what not as needed or to what you have on hand. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This recipe was absolutely amazing!! My husband and I are on weight watchers and we fought over who got how much. That was the first time ever. I do know he added more currey and sauteed the onions since he doesn't like raw onions but I think that made it much better. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is a good chicken salad. I substituted red onions and craisins and mixed light mayo with fat free sour cream and a lot more curry to dress it as others have suggested. I didn't think the pecans added enough to the flavor to make it worth the added calories. I will leave them out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was pretty good but I made some changes that made it taste more like our local health food store's version--which I love! I increased the curry powder to 1 1/2 tsp., added about 1/8 tsp. of cumin powder, added 1/2 of a red bell pepper (chopped), added 1/2 tsp. of salt, and omitted the apples, raisins, and pecans. It turned out really, really well. I highly recommend letting this refrigerate overnight before eating so the flavors can blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
There is a resturant here in Atlanta Called Highland Bakery. I love their curry chicken salad. This is just loke what they make, just the right blend of sweetness ans curry! Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyndeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I make a very similar chicken salad except mine contains red seedless grapes, green onion, fuji apples and cashews.... This one is o.k., but I still think I will stick to my original recipe which I know is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States