Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
I love this fruitcake! Very filling, very spicy. I don't think it will last long enough to age. I didn't put in the lemon rind though. I am so thrilled to have this recipe. I've made this cake and have given it out for Christmas for the last few years. I do age it in powdered sugar. To age it this way: first, soak it real good with your favorite spirits. Second, place it in a tin that can be made airtight. Then, fill tin up with powdered sugar. Let it age at least one full month. Leave sugar in with the cake. Also, another way to age the cake is to wrap it in soaked cheese cloth and place in tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
This recipe is simply great! My mother-in-law who is 100 yrs. old had a recipe for a dark fruit cake that had molasses in the ingredients, but lost it two years ago. This recipe is even more moist than hers. Now I can carry on the tradition of baking a fruitcake for the Holidays.It's so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I was very unhappy with this recipe. First of all, this recipe calls for way too much clove. It should be called "Clovecake". Second of all, I baked this cake for 1 hour and 10 minutes and the tester came out clean. After it cooled and I tried to get it out of the pan, it was still uncooked at the bottom. I had to throw it away. I will never tey this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Don't listen to the other poor review, quite simply this is the BEST fruitcake recipe EVER!Ofcourse the cloves are strong,the cake must age to it's rich spicy perfection!I have made it a few years and found if you soak the fruit w one-half cup of the brandy for a day its moister.I use rum instead,too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I'm sorry it's way to spicy. We cut the cloves & allspice totally and recommend cutting the cinnimon & nutmeg by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Lovely spicy, moist fruitcake; I only withheld one star because the baking time, or perhaps the oven setting, is wrong. I allowed plenty of time, because it didn't look right to me, and sure enough, the cake baked a full two hours. Worth it, though! Nice texture. I did reduce the cloves, allspice, and nutmeg to one tablespoon each, just because that felt like a good idea, and it's still wonderfully spicy. You'll need the zest of two whole lemons to get two tablespoons, but it's worth it. Now all I have to do is try to keep from eating it before Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I actually tried another recipe for fruitcake this year, by some famous chef's mum but it doesn't taste as good as this one. If you're complaining about 2 hours, the other recipe called for 5 hours. So I'm remaking the fruitcakes again, using THIS recipe. I did tweak a bit, I use 1 cup molasses sugar instead and I add some honey in as I love the smell of honey when I bake. And i'll give it a full 2 to 3 hours. 1 hour isn't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNIETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I baked this Fruitcake last year and it was quite a hit. I felt a little less of the spices may help. I decreased the amount of cloves and nutmeg to 1 tablespoon each. I also added 2 tablespoon of grated orange zest. Used pecans instead of walnuts. Baked for 1 hour and 20 minutes. I am very thankful that you shared this recipe with us. It is truly the most flavorable and easiest Fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I reduced the spices in this to half. I only put additional brandy on it after baking five days. I increased the baking time, to 2 hours, if memory serves. What I got was a cake that I think is still too spicy, and borders on soggy. I suspected this was happening, which is why I stopped with the additional brandy after baking. If I were to do this recipe again, I'd probably cut back on all the spices except the cinnamon to 3/4 tablespoon, keep the cinnamon at 1 TBS. I would also omit the application of the brandy after baking. I would consider doing it with rum instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Just made it a few days ago so we haven't eaten it yet, but I can say it took almost 2 hours to cook, so be aware of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States