Fruitcake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DIANEW42
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Oh my goodness are these good. Addictive little taste treats for sure! I rolled the dough in 4 parchment paper logs (sprayed plastic wrap will work as well) and refrigerated before slicing and baking. That method gives a rounder, even cookie, and the fruit shows through like cut glass. As other reviewers noted, these do not spread at all so how you put them in is how they will come out. No need to change the recipe one bit but...but I did add a little bit of salt, vanilla and baking soda because I felt the butter and flour would be lonely without them. Not sure it made any difference though! And yes this makes a very big batch of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
for the first time ever I made fruit cakes this christmas. this is one of 12 different recipies that I worked with and the best. I used dried cherries instead of candied cherries and all pecans in all versions and made first batch in early Dec. but my grandkids did not like the boozey taste. had adults picking the crumbs from the plate. second batch used apple juice instead of bourbon and everyone liked but still too crumbly. third batch I halved the fruit and nuts and these were the bomb. none have lasted long enough to hit peak flavor as they start on them out of the oven. do know if I can hide this next batch they will taste even better as the last ones in the jar are the absolute best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I LOVE this recipe!!! Last year I made it but cut the ingredients in half, and it still made 72 cookies. This year I bought enough ingredients to make a full batch!! These are the best!! The only change I made was to buy mixed candied fruit instead of just using cherries & pineapple. The only advice I have for those making this for the first time, is to use an extra large bowl to coat the fruit in flour, and after you mix the other ingredients, pour the dough into the bowl with the fruit. It is easy to cut in the dough if you use a butter knife. Much easier to mix than with a spoon. I used a gigantic Tupperware bowl with a lid. Be sure to follow all instructions & don't leave out any ingredients. These were the best cookies ever!! Thank you, Mary Lou!! I am sending some to family out of town & these will be on my must have list every year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I made these cookies, only making half the recipe and still got the amount stated. I put these in a tin and they were good for a long time. I ate only a couple each morning with my coffee. So good. They will be everything you wanted. Make sure you follow the steps as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
My husband loves these. I am not a fan of fruitcake, but I really like these. They do get better with age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Delicious, but subbed orange juice for the bourbon and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These cookies came out great. I didn't want to use the bourbon, so I substituted 1 cup of almond milk with about a teaspoon of rum extract in it. The recipe is very forgiving. I used less sugar (about 1 3/4 cups) and a mix of 4 lbs. of dried fruit, plus whatever nuts I had here. I'm sure it was less than 2 lbs. I got well over 80 cookies using my 1 oz. scoop. Delicious. Everyone has loved them. Thanks, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is a great recipe, although I did tweak a bit. My main suggestion is to really ramp up the spices. I use a TON of cinnamon, ground cloves, nutmeg and dried ginger, plus some vanilla. Probably at least a half tablespoon of cinnamon, for example! I used brandy instead of bourbon, and skipped the pineapple. I just used a thing of mixed glace fruit from the grocery store. I also added dried dates that I cut up. I made these for my dad, in my unending quest to find cookies that he likes and that my mum and I (the dieters) don't like! He loves fruitcake, so these were perfect. He actually rhapsodized for ages about how they were like the "spice cookies" his mum used to make. So yes - definitely a cookie that will appeal to fruitcake lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessay3

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This recipe was not sweet enough and too dry. Cookies crumbled on the cookie sheet. I added flour and brown sugar and a little milk to the recipe to get the ingredients to hold together during cooking. Would not use this recipe again, but now must use since I have about $35 tied up in ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States