Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
With notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
i never soak my fruitcakes. so idk. and expensive?? hm?? funy how i seem to be lucky enough for it not to be. this recipe was good. thank your grandma for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrinna Mace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quinton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was my first attempt at making a fruit cake ever. Totally ruined and wasted all those ingredients! Oven temp said 225 and cook for 1 hour. It was far from being done. Spices were too potent - thinking whomever typed this meant TEASPOONS instead of Tablespoons?! Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great fruitcake recipe. I love the fact that no candied fruit is called for (though I did place candied cherries in the bundt before pouring the batter to make it look more festive), and I used a combo of dates, raisins, plums, and apricots with walnuts and pecans. Soaked the fruit in brandy for a couple of hours, and have been alternating brandy and amaretto to dribble over it every day or two. Will be added as one of the few go-to fruitcake recipes in my book (I do like fruitcake, so I need more than one)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I found this recipe in 2005 and have made it every year since! I don't like fruitcake but this one is out of this world delicious!!!! I look forward to every Christmas so I can make it. 2 hours baking in the oven and it comes out perfect. Thanks Roxy and your grandmother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I made this last year for the first time and everyone loved it! I am making two fruitcakes this weekend for this holiday season. My cake also baked my cake for nearly 3 hours. I made some slight adjustments - I'm not a huge fan of raisins so for the 1 1/2 cups of raisins, I used a mixture of raisins, dried cherries, dried blueberries and dried cranberries. For the nuts, I only used pecans. Looking forward to making it and gifting it this holiday season season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I made this last year. I first made brandied fruit (for frienship cake starter). I also had to bake longer. Otherwise I followed the recipe. It was awesome. This year I am going to try it with rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I'm an experienced cook but I'd never previously had the foresight to make a fruitcake before the season until now. First discovery was that these things are hellaciously expensive to make. Second, this is a poor choice for a fruitcake and I do believe the fault lies with the tempering. I followed the instructions thoroughly and my cake was dry. It felt moist enough and I could never get it to accept more than 2 tbsp of brandy, but was dry upon eating. Also, 2 tbsp of cloves is such serious overkill, too much cloves. Lastly, it could have been sweeter, which given the ingredients might seem odd, still, the sweet factor was minimal. Research after the fact has shown me that the cakes need to be wrapped in a brandy soaked cloth and placed in an airtight container. I might make this again but with changes. As it stands, a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Just finished making this recipe for the second time! These are the modifications I made: cut the cloves in half, cooked at 250 for 3 hours, soaked the fruit in brandy ahead of time, and used dark brown sugar. After cooling, I wrapped the loaves in brandy soaked cheesecloth, then wrapped in aluminum foil, placed them in ziplock bags and left them alone for a month to age. Wow was this ever good! Very spicy, moist. It tastes wonderful with a good strong cup of coffee. I hope this month goes by fast, I can't wait to have a slice of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Awesome love it!! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States