Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe was so good. I've never liked fruitcake and neither have most of the other people who tried this one and loved it. I soaked the fruit in brandy for a few days and then added the additional brandy required by the recipe. I used pecans. Baked for about 1 hour and 10 minutes and only added the additional tablespoons of brandy twice (it smelled so strong I decided to leave it alone). Waited only 2.5 weeks and it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I had to cook this cake just over 2.5 hours to get it done. After cooling, it crumbled when coming out of the pan. I drizzled with brandy for 2 weeks anyway, but was very disappointed with the out come. Way too much spice; cloves especially. I made this for my dad who loves good fruitcake but this was not high on his list. Will try another recipe next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bonnieville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made it with rum instead of brandy. However my family could not wait a week to let the alcohol soak. It was absoulutely delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I have to say the initial flavor of the batter was good. However, after sitting and curing the taste of cloves was so strong that we couldn't eat it. I was so upset. I think it would be good if there were actually no cloves in there at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefani Buhajla

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I followed the recipe faithfully,and had enough left over to make 4 little fruit cake muffins..they were cooked perfectly in 1 hour,but the cake took 3 hours to cook in a bundt pan,very tasty,I will use this recipe again,but halve the quantities,also,I soaked the fruit for 24 hours in brandy before making the cake,maybe that is why it took so long to cook,it is so beautifully moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I tried this recipe 3 times... doubling each time. Only the 1st time was ONE cake alrite. Every other cake crumbled upon coming out of the pan. I want to love this recipe, the crumbs were delicious... but I just could not get it to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I LOVE fruitcake and this is the first time I've made any. I made this into 8 small cakes and one loaf size. I began about a week before Thanksgiving. I soaked my fruit in brandy for a couple of days, then made the cakes according to the directions. I just tried one of the small cakes tonight and I am happy with the results. My cakes were sticking to the foil so I rewrapped them in cheesecloth then foil. This seems to be working better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
So far, so good! I'm not a fan of fruitcake, but last year started the tradition of making it for my father-in-law for Christmas. I used one 9x5" loaf pan, and two 5x3" pans, and had the perfect amount of batter. It baked very nicely in about an hour and a half and is in the aging stage right now. Seems like the perfect texture and smell for all those fruitcake lovers to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I didn't like fruit cake until I tried this recipe! I added much more dried fruit like cranberries, appricots, dates and for nuts used pecans. I cooked the cake for 1-1/2 hours and found it is better to be less than over done. Fabulous taste and better the longer it ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Great fruitcake. I soaked my dried fruit mix in rum and I used rum instead of brandy. I also cooked the cake for 3 hours. I made it twice. The second time I added one cup applesauce because I had read it makes the cake moister. Big mistake the cakes did not turn out well at all. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States