Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
this is BY FAR the BEST FRUITCAKE I have EVER put to my face ! I had to make 2 for thanksgiving and I KNOW I'll have to make at least 2 more for Christmas. A NEW tradition for me! VERY moist and VERY delicious ! NO MORE STORE BOUGHT for ME ! THANK YOU for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This had way too much butter! It spilled all over my oven and was a mess to clean up. you could probably use half the amount of butter and still have a moist cake. We wrapped the cakes in cheese cloth that had been dipped in rum, then stored them in zip-lock bags in a cool dark place for a month before eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was my first time ever baking a fruit cake, and I am so glad I used this recipe! It turned out great! At first, I was worried about leaving the cake for two weeks, but as it turns out, fruitcake really does taste better as it ages. I decided to use this recipe to bake a cake in a 9-inch round pan, so I cut the amount of ingredients accordingly. I also added more candied fruit and put in less raisins (personal preference). The cake turned out moist, rich, and flavorful. It was much better than ANYTHING you could buy in any bakery. Just make sure you use high quality brandy! You can really taste the difference. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 44benny44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
well its still winter here, had the urge to make fruitcake...this is a fantastic recipe! If you like dense, moist and dark!! which i do..I did a mod or two..but the basic recipe i have made before and was just wonderful...my mods..1 cup butter with 1/2 cup oil..1/4 c molasses added, added 2 tsp ginger and used pecans and used rum.....this provided a very fruity, dense, nutty,and moist cake...it did take one bundt pan and two mini's and yes it takes about 3 hrs to bake..worth every moment...will be making a rum cream sauce to go over it. remember this is a dense dense cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
don't like it sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was my first time making fruitcake and it turned out excellent. I'm giving the recipe 4 stars instead of 5 because it needs some modifications. I followed the advice of past reviewers--I soaked the dried fruit in brandy for a day and I baked the fruitcake for 3 hours at 225. I used dried cherries, cranberries, and apricots (in addition to the raisins). Another modification I made was to cut the spices in half. I like a lot of spices, but I feel that if I had put in the amount in the recipe it would have been overpowering. I doubled the recipe and it filled 6 medium loaf pans (I think they were 3 x 5). My husband and I sampled one of the loaves right out of the oven and it was delicious. I have the remaining loaves resting in the refrigerator and will drizzle brandy on them occasionally. I will add more information to this review after the loaves have sat for a couple of weeks. I think that there could have been more fruit and nuts added but I'll see what it tastes like after it has sat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINAHAWKINS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This cake is awesome!!!!! It will be part of our Christmas from now on. I have always hated fruitcake, but not anymore. Thank you so much for sharing a part of your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was my first fruit cake I made and I am glad I chose this one. Everyone who tried the cake LOVED IT - even those who do not like fruit and brandy :) It took about 3 hours to bake. I changed the recipe a little bit - for the fruits I used raisins, dried cranberries, dried cherries and apricots (I LOVE apricots)..and it turned out really good. This was a very rich and flavorful cake! I will make it again and will be come the 'aunt who brings fruit cake to Christmas' :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Very good cake. It takes long time to bake, but it's wort it. I used apple sauce instead of butter and added little orange juice instead of the 4 egg, i had only 3. It came very good and everybody loved it. I'm baking it second time now:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I made this cake yesterday for 16 servings. I too had a problem with the timing and such a slow oven. I increased the temp towards the last 40 minutes to 250. It took almost 2 1/2 hours to bake. Does anyone else think a higher temp would have been OK with less baking time, without sacrificing texture and taste? I want to make another one that's lighter in color. I took the cake out of the pan after 10 minutes of cooling and it came out perfectly. Loosen the edges with a knife before removing. Also, I wrapped mine in cheesecloth before putting it in foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States