Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
A family friend said it was the best fruitcake she ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
it is nice to make it made it already
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Most delicious. Chewy yet moist. I doubled the portions as i wanted to give as christmas gifts. I used 1 cup of butter instead of 1.5 cups. Also substituted with currants and dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
WAY TOO MUCH SPICE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
With notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
i never soak my fruitcakes. so idk. and expensive?? hm?? funy how i seem to be lucky enough for it not to be. this recipe was good. thank your grandma for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nora Dahlstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quinton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was my first attempt at making a fruit cake ever. Totally ruined and wasted all those ingredients! Oven temp said 225 and cook for 1 hour. It was far from being done. Spices were too potent - thinking whomever typed this meant TEASPOONS instead of Tablespoons?! Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great fruitcake recipe. I love the fact that no candied fruit is called for (though I did place candied cherries in the bundt before pouring the batter to make it look more festive), and I used a combo of dates, raisins, plums, and apricots with walnuts and pecans. Soaked the fruit in brandy for a couple of hours, and have been alternating brandy and amaretto to dribble over it every day or two. Will be added as one of the few go-to fruitcake recipes in my book (I do like fruitcake, so I need more than one)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I found this recipe in 2005 and have made it every year since! I don't like fruitcake but this one is out of this world delicious!!!! I look forward to every Christmas so I can make it. 2 hours baking in the oven and it comes out perfect. Thanks Roxy and your grandmother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I made this last year for the first time and everyone loved it! I am making two fruitcakes this weekend for this holiday season. My cake also baked my cake for nearly 3 hours. I made some slight adjustments - I'm not a huge fan of raisins so for the 1 1/2 cups of raisins, I used a mixture of raisins, dried cherries, dried blueberries and dried cranberries. For the nuts, I only used pecans. Looking forward to making it and gifting it this holiday season season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States