Fruit Sherbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Yummy! I was so anxious to make this last night even though I didn't have the orange or pineapple juices & it still was great. I had some over ripe peaches & juiced them making a 1/2 cup & added the lemon juice. I only used 1 cup of sugar. It is very tangy & refreshing. I'm looking forward to trying different juice combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
this is a fantastic recipe! made it last night after seeing it. I used the exact measurements and also added crushed pineapple to it. I put all the juices and sugar ,milk in blender, pulsed a few times. then after about 2 hrs of freezing, stirred it again with a fork. came out so wonderful. light refreshing dessert or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I just found this recipe on here yesterday and I am making already today for a cookout this weekend! It is still "whirring" away in my ice cream maker and I can't keep the spoon out of it--it is THAT good! I made it exactly as the recipe shows and it is a little tangy but so refreshingly good. This is a definite keeper and I am sure I will be making this a lot from now on. God bless that woman from the 30s who came up with this and had to keep a frugal kitchen like today's woman too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Easy and refreshing – what could be better on a hot summer’s day? I loved the tartness of the lemon and the sweetness of the pineapple. I used my 1 1/2 quart ice cream maker which gave the sherbet a wonderfully smooth texture. I may try it the next time without the pineapple juice just to see if I could get more of a lemon sherbet. It will be a fun recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I cannot say enough good things about this recipe! I used fresh squeezed juices straight from the juicer, 1% milk and reduced the sugar to 1 cup to try to make it a little more healthy and it was absolutely delicious!! I will be trying new combinations of juices in the future, but this was awesome as is. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACHMILA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
REFRESHING! A cool refreshing treat for a hot summer day. My only changes were to use 2% milk and freeze in my ice cream maker. The flavor has a nice balance between sweet and tart, and the texture was smooth and slightly creamy. This is a recipe I would be proud to serve to company! Thank you Mary Ann Benzon for sharing such a REFRESHING treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Wonderful recipe and so easy to make! I didn't have orange juice, so I used the lemon juice and the rest all pineapple. This made a juicy, tangy pineapple sherbet. I've also made it with heavy cream instead of milk and it comes out richer and creamier. The recipe actually makes about six servings and the amount was perfect for my 1 1/2 quart ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was excellent! It was incredibly easy to make and it was tasty. I would suggest lessening the lemon juice just a tad as it was quite tangy (although I liked that!) and stirring as it freezes as some of the juices sunk to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I was trying to find a quick and easy dessert to serve after a heavy meal and this fit the bill perfectly. It's super easy and quick to make and when you're done you have a wonderful tangy sherbet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States