Fruit Salsa with Cinnamon Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Wow! This needs to come with a warning: Highly Addictive! This was a beautiful combination of colors and flavors. And no matter what assortment of fresh fruit you use it's bound to be good so use your favorites and use the recipe as a guide. I added chopped peaches to mine I baked the chips vs. frying to keep this a little healthier and lower in fat. So, for the cinnamon chips I used reduced fat tortillas and cut them with a pizza cutter which made things a lot easier. I sprayed them with butter flavored Pam and sprinkled them with the cinnamon sugar. I baked them at 350 for 8 minutes flipped them and baked them for another 7 minutes. They were crispy, sweet and delicious - next time I would double the amount because they went fast. This got a lot of compliments not only for taste, but for creativity. I'll definitely make this again - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I am always looking for healthy food and snack recipes for my family and this recipe with only the slightest bit of change made my family VERY HAPPY!!! I used 1 tablespoon of Splenda instead of the sugar in the salsa and brushed my whole wheat tortillas with applesauce instead of butter before baking them in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes. Thank you so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary-Evalyne Locke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyds, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Made this with low cholestrol flour tortillas. I did use the plate in the sink to spray each tortilla and sprinkle the cinnamon and sugar on both sides. I stacked them up in a pile and cut wedges using a pizza cutter. I used pizza pans with holes in them and they really baked well. For the fruit, I used no sugar. Fruits: mango, strawberries, granny smith apple, and fuji apple, fresh pineapple, blueberries, kiwi, and 2 peaches. This was a 5 star hit at a summer social...healthy and low calories. Everyone went to their "smartphones and found the recipe!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
i loved these chips, but i didn't make the salsa. instead of frying the chips, i sprinkled the chips with cinnamon and sugar and baked them in the oven on 375 degrees farenheit for 4 1/2 minutes. very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I've never made this the same way twice but it is always a hit. My 4 year old and I do this recipe together...lots of fun! I probably use more sugar that I toss on the strawberries. I use 2+ apple varieties like granny smith and gala; I also usually leave out the bananas because they go bad too fast. Without them the dish is GREAT overnight & leftovers a few days later! I cut my apples first and coat them with lime juice so they don’t brown (Key Lime juice is nice too)--then I add everything else. I’ve also used Pumpkin Spice for a more “fall” flavor and sometimes toss in some grape jelly to make it thicker. For the tortillas I have ALWAYS gone the oven route with butter flavored cooking spray and a generous coating of cinnamon and sugar. After doing this about a dozen times here’s my cutting guide: Cut 4 tortillas at a time (stacked) using a sharp pizza cutter. Cut vertically in to 4 strips (cut in half, then half the 2 halves for 4 even strips), then cut horizontally the same way for a total of 16 even piles of “squares”…actually it will be 12 squares and 4 corners because the tortillas are round. Remove the corners from your cutting board and cut each set of squares diagonally. For every tortilla you’ll get 28 triangular chips with no waste. You can transfer them to the cookie sheet in nice tight rows with very little wasted space so you can spray, sugar and bake a lot at a time and not waste too much. I can fit 6+ tortillas (168+ chips) on one cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I made this yesterday as an appitizer for the 4 th of July. I did change the fruit up a bit I used Watermelon, cantalope, Honeydew melon, Strawberries, bananas, Kiwis, and pinapple!! It's so good alone and yet even better with the chips. I made the chips as directed but I think I will try baking them next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My family absolutely loved this recipe. Will make again and again. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
OMG! the endless possiablilties to this!!! Can't wait to make this again!! Used whole wheat tortilla's too, to make it all the healthier. NJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very good, I baked the chips and while not as good as if they were fried, much better for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taylorselby
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Today, I went to school, I had a test in science and I think I did pretty well. I came over to my friend Laura's house. We went to the store with her brother. When we were in the car, we heard Boys Like Girls, but I personally like boys. Then we heard Taylor Swift and Doug (the brother previously mentioned) is in love with Taylor Swift. I mean, not a celebrity crush. He is convinced he will marry her. Don't be surprised if the next headline is "Taylor Swift engaged to.... Doug?" He freaked out and started singing along to the song. He almost crashed the car! He's not the best at driving stick shift but he thinks he is... SEW we just play along. We bought some stuff to make drink concoctions that can't be said, because they are secret, but they were good!!! Then we got home. We decided to play truth or dare, and we did some pretty nasty dares. I had to lick the floor! (Yes, we're 5 years old.) THEN, Laura had this great idea to make these chips! We went on Google and searched: Mexican cinnamon sugar tortilla chips. Then, we decided we didn't need the Mexican part so we took that out. And guess what popped up? This recipe! We just made them as they were directed (the baked version) We had to make some revisions though. We put the tortilla triangles in a bowl and covered them with Pam (the cooking spray) We tossed them around with some cinnamon sugar and baked 'em. Then we plated them with some whipped cream. They were very good, though the time stated was incorrect. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taylorselby

Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States