Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
My dear mom passed down this recipe, it has been in our family many years and is almost identical to this. It is called Ambrosia Salad. It is my family's favorite. It calls for 1/4 c. shredded coconut(leave out if don't like), but it gives a nice flavor and sweetness to this, 1 c. sour cream or enough to moisten, 1 c. grapes halved, 1 c. mandarin oranges drained( I use more), 1 c. mini marshmellows and 1 c. crushed pineapple drained. Double for large crowds. You can basically add the fruits you like and mix with sour cream until your liking. I think the cherries is a great addition!We especially like this in the summer months but get cravings for it year round! My daughter begs me to make this all the time! This recipe is so close to this and that is why I gave it 5*. I think any way you make will be great! Thanks Tina for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
A friend made this at a birthday party and I ate it without knowing what was in it. I was shocked that the creaminess was from sour cream! She said she added all the ingredients except the marshmallows(add them before serving if you don't like mush) and let it set overnight to combine the flavors (and to take away the tang from the sour cream). I tried it at home and used fatfree sour cream with the same results. I also added a little of the cherry juice. Great recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Don't wait for holidays to make this salad! If you're sick of whipped cream, cool whip and mayonnaise adorning your salads, then this one is for you! The sour cream dressing is wonderful, not too sweet or heavy. Sometimes I add just a touch of orange or lemon extract to the sour cream.I usually halve it, then use very few marshmallows (too sweet). Sometimes I add a banana or two and leave out the marshmallows completely. Thanks Tina.This is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
My mother used to make this wonderful fruit salad that she called "5 Cup Fruit Salad" for every holiday and we all loved it. She recently passed away and I was trying to think of what all we use to put in it and I knew we used marshmellows, cherries, sour cream, canned pineapples and something else. I got on here to see if I could find one similar to hers. Back then they did not have mandarin (spelling?) oranges canned and I think (????) she used fresh oranges and possibly canned pears too. We would add cherry juice to the mixture for a colorful dish and would hold off on the marshmellows until it was about and hour before it was served otherwise it would become mushy. Sprinkly some chopped pecans or walnuts on top. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe so that I too can make this fabulous fruit salad that sound disgusting because of sour cream but is truly refreshing and oh so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Lavaca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Who dosen't love "fluffy" salads? I like to use colored marshmallows and add a half cup or so of pecans. If I have it, I'll throw in a cup or so of flaked sweetened coconut. This recipe always bends well to whatever canned fruit you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
YUMMO!! It's really good! Thanks for a great recipe. Here is exactly what I used: 2 cans pineapple chunks 4 cans mandarin oranges 1 large jar of cherries 1 16 oz sour cream 1/2 pkg of mini marshmallows This is really a simple & simply delicious fruit salad! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This was very good. Made it for playgroup - both the moms & the kids loved it. I added only about 3/4 the marshmallows and sour cream. It was light & not runny at all. Thanks for a quick & easy pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
The sour cream gave it a wonderfully tangy, creamy texture but wayyyyy too many marshmallows. I'll try using 8 oz marshmallows next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I added 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts and I sliced frozen strawberries in half. I really liked this recipe, but it makes enough for 10 to 12 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I love this and have made it for years. I cut or tear the cherries in half. I put the cherries, mandrain oranges and pineapple into a colander and drain the fruit well. I pour the fruit and marshmellows in a bowl and pour in the sour cream and mix well. I let it sit over night in the fridge. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States