Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is a great fruit salad recipe. I made it for my family's Thanksgiving, and then countless dinners at home since then. I love the sour cream (as opposed to a whipped topping). I didn't use all the marshmallows called for as it seemed like a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Doubled recipe except I only used 16 oz. sour cream & 1 - 16 oz. pkg. marshmallows. Very easy prep. & tasty too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
A friend made this at a birthday party and I ate it without knowing what was in it. I was shocked that the creaminess was from sour cream! She said she added all the ingredients except the marshmallows(add them before serving if you don't like mush) and let it set overnight to combine the flavors (and to take away the tang from the sour cream). I tried it at home and used fatfree sour cream with the same results. I also added a little of the cherry juice. Great recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This was very good. Made it for playgroup - both the moms & the kids loved it. I added only about 3/4 the marshmallows and sour cream. It was light & not runny at all. Thanks for a quick & easy pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
My mother used to make this wonderful fruit salad that she called "5 Cup Fruit Salad" for every holiday and we all loved it. She recently passed away and I was trying to think of what all we use to put in it and I knew we used marshmellows, cherries, sour cream, canned pineapples and something else. I got on here to see if I could find one similar to hers. Back then they did not have mandarin (spelling?) oranges canned and I think (????) she used fresh oranges and possibly canned pears too. We would add cherry juice to the mixture for a colorful dish and would hold off on the marshmellows until it was about and hour before it was served otherwise it would become mushy. Sprinkly some chopped pecans or walnuts on top. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe so that I too can make this fabulous fruit salad that sound disgusting because of sour cream but is truly refreshing and oh so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Lavaca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I love this salad. It tastes so good. If you let it sit in the fridge awhile, the marshmallows absorb the juice and get soft and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
this is a very simple, and delicious recipe. I also eat it every Thanksgiving. You can add coconut, but it's great just like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Rocker!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This was way too sweet for us. Might be improved by using much fewer marshmellows. Made it when my grandkids were here and even they wouldn't eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
My dear mom passed down this recipe, it has been in our family many years and is almost identical to this. It is called Ambrosia Salad. It is my family's favorite. It calls for 1/4 c. shredded coconut(leave out if don't like), but it gives a nice flavor and sweetness to this, 1 c. sour cream or enough to moisten, 1 c. grapes halved, 1 c. mandarin oranges drained( I use more), 1 c. mini marshmellows and 1 c. crushed pineapple drained. Double for large crowds. You can basically add the fruits you like and mix with sour cream until your liking. I think the cherries is a great addition!We especially like this in the summer months but get cravings for it year round! My daughter begs me to make this all the time! This recipe is so close to this and that is why I gave it 5*. I think any way you make will be great! Thanks Tina for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Don't wait for holidays to make this salad! If you're sick of whipped cream, cool whip and mayonnaise adorning your salads, then this one is for you! The sour cream dressing is wonderful, not too sweet or heavy. Sometimes I add just a touch of orange or lemon extract to the sour cream.I usually halve it, then use very few marshmallows (too sweet). Sometimes I add a banana or two and leave out the marshmallows completely. Thanks Tina.This is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States