Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
this is a very simple, and delicious recipe. I also eat it every Thanksgiving. You can add coconut, but it's great just like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Rocker!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
My mother used to make this wonderful fruit salad that she called "5 Cup Fruit Salad" for every holiday and we all loved it. She recently passed away and I was trying to think of what all we use to put in it and I knew we used marshmellows, cherries, sour cream, canned pineapples and something else. I got on here to see if I could find one similar to hers. Back then they did not have mandarin (spelling?) oranges canned and I think (????) she used fresh oranges and possibly canned pears too. We would add cherry juice to the mixture for a colorful dish and would hold off on the marshmellows until it was about and hour before it was served otherwise it would become mushy. Sprinkly some chopped pecans or walnuts on top. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe so that I too can make this fabulous fruit salad that sound disgusting because of sour cream but is truly refreshing and oh so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Lavaca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Doubled recipe except I only used 16 oz. sour cream & 1 - 16 oz. pkg. marshmallows. Very easy prep. & tasty too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I make this every Thanksgiving. It is very easy to make and everyone in my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I added 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts and I sliced frozen strawberries in half. I really liked this recipe, but it makes enough for 10 to 12 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
This is a tangy treat to be thankful for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
A friend made this at a birthday party and I ate it without knowing what was in it. I was shocked that the creaminess was from sour cream! She said she added all the ingredients except the marshmallows(add them before serving if you don't like mush) and let it set overnight to combine the flavors (and to take away the tang from the sour cream). I tried it at home and used fatfree sour cream with the same results. I also added a little of the cherry juice. Great recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is a really good & quick dessert. I always add a bit of powdered sugar to give it a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I love this salad. It tastes so good. If you let it sit in the fridge awhile, the marshmallows absorb the juice and get soft and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is a great fruit salad recipe. I made it for my family's Thanksgiving, and then countless dinners at home since then. I love the sour cream (as opposed to a whipped topping). I didn't use all the marshmallows called for as it seemed like a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States