Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I took the advice of a few reviewers and made this today with these changes: strawberry filling instead of cherry, added a small can of drained mandarin oranges, a small can of drained pineapple chunks, added 1 banana, used only 1/2 of the container of whipped topping (french vanilla flavor), 1/2 the can of condensed milk (used fat free version), did NOT add the pecans but added about 1/2-3/4 cup of toasted coconut, which made it more like an ambrosia recipe but all of this was a great combo. This was scarfed down by everyone in the family. My daughter said to make another batch ASAP! And since I still have 1/2 container of topping and 1/2 can of condensed milk, I have a good excuse to 'use them up'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
My family loved it! Gone in just minutes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I thought this was a pretty good salad and really easy to make. It didn't take that much time to make it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HToomsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe was very delicious! I think if I were to ever make it again, I would try it with some other fruits like strawberries. The marshmallows were my favorite part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very good, I like the marshmellows, really simple and didn't take very much time, tasted yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lsorenson
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
very super duper yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I agree with others that this was way too much whipped topping mix. I just used a little of it and it was plenty to coat and sweeten the fruits. Everyone loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
LOVE it!!! My kids couldnt get enough either!! Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I've been making this recipe for 25 years now by request as a Thanksgiving must have side dish. Some thoughts/suggestions. If you find it too sweet, hold out the marshmallows. It is best made the night before to let the flavors meld. I think nuts are a must - but you can substitute walnuts, or any nut on hand. You must use a good cherry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, Montana, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I used two small jars of marachino cherries instead of cherry pie filling only because I was afraid that the salad would be too sweet. I did add a little more chopped pecans. This was good but not great. Still too sweet, even with using the jarred cherries. This was a nice fluffy salad to make with the ingredients I had on hand and it went well with our "Thanksgiving" dinner in January. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States