Fruit Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Megan Renee Sarah Sampson
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I am vegan so I altered this a little. I made half the recipe. I used cold leftover Jasmine rice (from last nights dinner, when I make rice I always make extra to store for future meals) I did not have peaches so I used an apricot, I also subbed regular raisins for golden raisins. The biggest thing I changed was using Almond milk instead of heavy cream, I used raw sugar instead of white. The almond milk did not thicken as heavy cream would have so I just added extra rice. I made a bed of Artisan lettuce, spooned some rice salad on top and topped with pine nuts instead of more almonds. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Renee Sarah Sampson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I leave out the whipped cream. But a yummy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Gold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I have made frog-eye salad for every family dinner for the past decade. This time I made this instead, and everyone loved it! I left out the almonds, but added a little almond extract, and used cool whip and left out the sugar. Being January, I had to use what I had frozen, so there were raspberries and blueberries, with no peaches. Finally, I cooked the rice in the pineapple juice from the can and some coconut milk. Very delicious salad, this will be a new staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I brought this to a dessert potluck and it was a huge hit-- probably because it's delicious without being full of chocolate and sugar. It's very light (rich desserts aren't my thing) and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsey_sam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I love it. I also added Blueberries, and a little Almond flavor to the Heavy cream. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
this is a delicious & light fruit salad that is easy to bring along to picnics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Warning: makes A LOT as presented. It says serves 6, but it serves closer to twelve. Unless you're taking it to a pot luck, I recommend halving or even quartering the amounts. Otherwise, VERY tasty and fun textures too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I added fresh blueberries and left the raisins out. This salad was great - I will add even more fruit next time! It would also be good in the winter with canned and/or frozen fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
A very "Tasty" dish, light and refreshing. Adding ginger to the whipcream creats a unique delight to the taste buds. A must for any summertime "Pot-Luck" dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States