Fruit Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
This was a HUGE hit at the 4th of July barbeque I brought it to. I've tried some of the other fruit pizza recipes and have these comments - the cream cheese and marshmallow combination is by far the best of all the recipes, there is no need for any type of glaze on this - it is perfectly sweet without it, and finally, I find store bought sugar cookie dough to be the easiest to work w/ and tastes/sets up the best (I think the dough recipe ones taste too much like cream of tartar). I let the dough cylinder get to almost room temp, then shaped into a disk, placed saran wrap on top and rolled it/pressed it on the pizza pan. Baked until entire top was light brown and let it cool completly before spreading chilled cream cheese mixture on top. I think chilling the final product in the fridge (for around 5 hours in my case) helped the taste of this pizza as well. Used blueberries and sliced strawberries for the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This is such a great recipe - and an even better crowd pleaser! I've been making Fruit Pizza similar to this for about 15 years now, and each time I know it will be enjoyed by everyone. You can make it year-round, and vary the fruits depending on the season. I've found that canned sliced pineapple (drained), canned sliced peaches, bananas, strawberries and kiwi are a great combination. The key to keeping the fruit fresh (especially the bananas) is to pour a lemon sauce all over the top after you've assembled everything. This "sets" the fruit and keeps things fresh. The sauce is the pineapple juice, 1/3 cup real lemon juice, and 1/4 cup sugar. Heat and stir until this boils, then slowly stir in cornstarch (that's been dissolved in a little cold water). Cool completely. In fact, if you make this first, it will be cooled by the time you're ready for it. You want the consistency of this syrup to be sorta thick like kayro syrup. Pour over fruit and then refrigerate a couple of hours. Also, the Fruit Pizza does well made in a rectangle pan, too. It's easier to serve, and can be made to be as attractive as a round pizza is! Either way, it's a great treat for everyone you serve it to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I really love fruit pizza. A variation for the "sauce" is cream cheese and whipped cream (instead of marshmallows) and also, adding a glaze of boiling orange juice and sugar over the top of the pizza allows you to use fruit such as bananas and apples and keep them from browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateTate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Absolutely Delicious!! I cannot believe how good this tasted. And it's soooo simple. I added a dash of almond extract to the cream cheese mixture and topped it off with apple pie filling and a dusting of cinnamon. I sliced my cookie dough into rounds and pressed them together in a well greased pizza pan. This recipe is so versatile and would work great with just about any combination of fruit. I'm definitely going to play around with this one in the future. Thanks Lois for a perfect ending to any meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
My mother in law gave me this recipe. I sometimes make it with frozen chocolate cookie dough as the crust. Kids love this. I prefer the suger cookie crust because of the sweetness. For a romantic valentines "pizza" follow the recipe, use only strawberries and drizzle with melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Yum!! Everyone LOVED this recipe!! I used the pre-formed cookie dough instead of making a sheet. Worked great for mini pizzas. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
Wonderful!! I made these for a Home and Garden Party and they were a great hit!! I baked them in a 9x13-inch baking dish, so it took a little longer than 10 minutes to bake the cookie crust. I topped it with strawberries, kiwi, fresh pineapple, and drained mandarin oranges. Will definately make this recipe again!!!! Thanks Lois for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
Great recipe. I had to make this three times in the last two weeks! My entire family just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This recipe is delicious! I love it my man loves it and my kids love it! Very easy very good. Instead of kiwis i used strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
Excellent recipe...kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States