Fruit Oatmeal Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Very Good! I put the whole recipeon the bottom of the pan them covered in jam. I made a streusel topping or cinnamon, flour, brown sugar and oats and sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I made this a year ago, trying to "copy", or should I say, figure out how to make grape bars. I live in the Finger Lakes and also work in vineyards. Anyways, one of my bosses got me hooked on these grape bars, made with concord grapes, a lady in Naples NY makes them and sells them, but I still can't find a recipe for them (I'm sure it's secret) LOL But......I came pretty close when I made grape pie filling on top of stove, then poured on top instead of jam. It was close, but I just read a review (which I'm going to try), that said double the oatmeal recipe and increase time, I think it will work. All and all, though, the base tastes like what I was looking for, ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne DeBolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Fantastic and Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
These taste nice, but look rather flat and dull. I followed the recipe and used raspberry jam, but these are average. Not sure I'd make these again, although perhaps following some of the other reviewers' suggestions may help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
My family loved these. I used date filling. I modified this recipe to make a little healthier and used 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 cup homemade apple butter(you can use applesauce as well) and only 1/4 cup butter. They turned out chewy and great flavor. I agree with previous reviewer, the mix was not enough for a 9x13 pan but was just right for a square pan. I'm still giving 5 stars because the recipe itself was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My Pot Luck
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Yeah..I did several changes for this recipe. Such as, reduce the sugar (i use only brown sugar), I use 85:15 ratio for Applesauce : Butter than using the full butter recipe. Also multiply the recipe 1,5 times since the crumble dough of the original recipe only enough for the base. So, i made half recipe more for the top crumble. Additional cinnamon powder also added here to enrich the spice of the this chewy non gooey cookie bars. I suggest this marvelously fruit bar eaten cold rather than warm with companion of cinnamon ice cream...Heeemmmm, FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Pot Luck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These tasted pretty good, but were much flatter than I would have liked. My husband wasn't crazy about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I went on trufflebun's tips, and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Higashikurume, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
These were so simple to make, required no eggs, and used up some jam that wasn't getting used otherwise. Nice flavor, sweet, and made a lot of bars. They were a bit on the dry side though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I found these okay but a little dry. I doubled the butter, melted completely. My favorite filling is an apple butter/applesauce mix with pumpkin spice added (however much you like). I also add about a fourth cup dry oats to the top layer mix and make sort of crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States