Fruit Leather Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I just popped this in the oven but had to come rave. The puree from the fruit (I used apples, pears, and strawberries) is absolutely DELICIOUS by itself. I did not bother to peel (more fiber!) or precook the fruit, omitted the sugar, and used the juice of one large lemon. The blended mixture becomes amazing apple/pear sauce and would make a great snack or smoothie on its own. This is also highly adaptable- use any fruit you have on hand. Taste the fruit before adding extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicous and healthy recipe! I was so excited when i found this because my nutritionist put me on a strict diet where i cant have cake or chocolate. I was craving somthin sweer so i made this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobo on your street

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoover, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I used five pears which I did steam to soften for blender and three cups total of raspberries and blackberries. Used the lemon juice but no sugar of any kind. Blended them all together and then put through a strainer to remove seeds. Cooked at 170 degree for six hours on wax paper (don't spread too thick). It was great - my boys LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made this for my diabetic mom and adapted this recipe for my NuWave oven. I pulverized the fruit in the Cuisinart with 1/8 cup of lemon juice, 1/4 cup of Splenda, 1/4 cup of raw honey and a couple tbls of soy protein powder. Mix it really well then cook it for 4-5 hours at about 160. No added sugar and packed with protein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Wasn't cooked after 10 hours, gave up since there seemed to be no end in sight and was wasting a lot of natural gas leaving oven door open. Perhaps you could make modifications to make it work, but the recipe as-is doesn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Love this! I made some adjustment like most of the reviewers on here did. I cut the recipe in half and instead of apples and pears we did apples and strawberries. I didn't really cut the lemon juice in half though guess I like it a little more tart. *Tip instead of boiling the fruit to soften, steam it. I think it's easier that way and it still retains all the vitamins. I also used a food processer and it worked awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Ching

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I thought it was great and my kids love it! I used plastic wrap and it came out perfect. I didn't measure the lemon juice or sugar but used a little of both. I also had to boil my apples before I put them in the blender. It was great! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
If you do not have a Vitamix...I HIGHLY suggest it as it is perfect for this, as well as many other recipes. I did not have to peel or core the apples, just remove the stem. This way you have much less prep time and you get even more nutrition with all the skins, core, and seeds. No you do not notice or taste any difference because they process well. This recipe did make a very full blender of mixture. I suggest possibly cutting it in half. You could also use this mix as just applesauce as well. Find the biggest cookie sheet you can fit on a single rack as using 2 racks doesn't work well. It did take over 8 hours to get it to a peelable consistency. Try to spread it as thin as possible without getting bare spots. I think that should cut down on the dry time also. I do believe the recipe meant to use waxed paper, not plastic. Another tip, do not let the leather cool before removing from the paper or it will be very hard to peel. I tore the leather into strips then rolled it up in plastic wrap to keep it from sticking to itself and to keep it fresh and from drying out. The flavor was wonderful! I did use organic Blue Agave in place of sugar. It's a gluten free, low glycemic organic sweetener I found at Costco. I gave it 4 stars due to the trial and error with the paper and the correct pour thickness but with practice, you'll have it down in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
At the risk of being repetetive, here is what I did, based on reviews: Cut the recipe in half, using only apples, blanched the apples before pureeing them, used 1/2 sugar called for, spread over parchment paper, 5 hrs at 170(as low as mine will go) w/ door propped open. PERFECT! Can't wait to do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattswife1123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Okay, this was fun in terms of trying something completely new. It also reminds me of my mom, as she used to dry fruits and make fruit leather when I was little. However, I experienced a few difficulties with this recipe. I don't have a blender but I'm inclined to agree that a blender isn't going to puree apples and pears adequately. Before my blender broke, I couldn't even make hummus well bc it didn't puree. I used the food processor and it pureed in a minute. I just couldn't put plastic wrap in the oven, so I used parchment paper instead, which worked just as well. I really wasn't sure how thick to put the puree on the pan and ended up with about 1/2 inch thickness. My oven also does not go to 150 degrees--only to 170, which is what I had it on for hours. Even at 7-8 hours, the fruit was just as applesauce-y as when I started. So I turned the oven to 200 degrees and left it on overnight. Woke up this morning and voila! Fruit leather! I only used half the sugar and it's plenty sweet and tastes good. It does, however, take a very long time. Next time I'll use my dehydrator for this instead, as I don't like having the oven on so long. Still, it's a fun recipe and with adjustments it would be great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States