Fruit Leather Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Tastes great, but the time to cook it is a lot longer than it states in the original recipe. I poured it into a large cookie sheet and a 9x13 pan on parchment paper. It turned out to be a nice thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I give this four stars, because I took instructions from another recipe & made in into one. I used 8 pears & 4 apples, since that's what I had. Chopped them up & placed in a large pot with 2 tbsp water, 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice, 1/2- 1 cup of honey (I added a little to start and taste tested along the way, and added a bit more until it was the right amount of sweetness), a generous sprinkle of cinnamon and about 1/8 tsp of cloves. Cooked over medium until fruit was very soft, smashed with a fork, and let it cook down until almost no fluid was left. Then puréed it in the food processor. Then spread over cookie sheets lined with parchment paper. Placed in oven at lowest temp (mine is 170f), closed the door all the way & let bake for about 7-9 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soldiersgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Every time I make it I use a different combination of fruit. So far the family favorite is 4c. Apples 4c. Bananas and a handful of raspberries. I use the lemon juice but no sugar, and my boyfriend loves that he has the same snack for dieting and exercising!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The_Dragon_Mama
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I used strawberries, raspberries, apple sauce, & lemon juice. The apple sauce makes them sweet enough by itself. Cooked about 5 hours on 170. The raspberries & lemon juice kept them from looking too brown. I baked them on parchment paper. When they were done and cooled I cut them into strips, while still stuck to the paper. Then I just pressed a owl shaped cutter into them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The_Dragon_Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Delicious! I have made this about five times so far and following the reviews and others I made a few changes. To keep it clean, I added honey instead of sugar. I used my new Silpat baking mat instead of the plastic wrap and it worked out great. I puree the fruit first (always apples but I think berry-apply blends are best: apple-blueberry has so far been my favorite, followed closely by pine-apple-apple-raspberry)then cook it over a medium heat for maybe 10 minutes or so. I find the cooking helps bring out the flavor in the fruit. My gas oven does not have markings below 265, so I just get it as low as possible so that does not go out and leave the oven door about halfway open. You should be able to put your hand in the oven and its warm but not hot. About 4 hours average time in oven. I am making these as christmas presents for friends and family...i have a lot of dehydrating to do! Great concept to be expanded by the adventurous! I am going to try a mango-chili-lime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
You can use bottled or canned fruit for this recipe too. Drain the juice and puree. It's so much easier to eat a fruit roll-up than a bowl of drippy fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
For getting the most out of a pile of apples - after you've made apple sauce, juice the cores and peels, leave liquid overnight to settle, skim off the thick stuff and use for leather the juice can be left as juice or used for jelly. The little bit of pulp left goes in the worm bin. All good - no waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Awesome, but time consuming. Need to try to find another way to dry the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I just popped this in the oven but had to come rave. The puree from the fruit (I used apples, pears, and strawberries) is absolutely DELICIOUS by itself. I did not bother to peel (more fiber!) or precook the fruit, omitted the sugar, and used the juice of one large lemon. The blended mixture becomes amazing apple/pear sauce and would make a great snack or smoothie on its own. This is also highly adaptable- use any fruit you have on hand. Taste the fruit before adding extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicous and healthy recipe! I was so excited when i found this because my nutritionist put me on a strict diet where i cant have cake or chocolate. I was craving somthin sweer so i made this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobo on your street

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoover, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States