Fruit-Filled White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This has become my go to recipe for white cake. Always comes out great, however last time I reduced the recipe down to one to make one for myself in a ramekin and made a mistake I added 2 1/2 TBSP butter instead of in Teaspoons. Well it was the most amazing little cake ever! P.S If you reduce it to 1 serving add 1/4 Teaspoon of cornstarch (instead of 3/8th an egg white?) and change the measurements of flour and milk; 2 TBSP of milk and 4 TBSP of Flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This cake was good, but it tasted a lot like pancakes. I needed to make a wedding cake, but the cake didn't rise at all so I had to find a new White cake recipe fast. I may have done something wrong, but I've tried making this a few times and failed each time. It tastes great, but comes out looking and tasting like a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakelover101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Yummy!!! This was my first from scratch cake. Turned out wonderful! Brought it up to work and everyone loved it! I also cut down on the white chocolate (only 3/4 cup used). I read a review that someone made just the filling and it was runny...make sure you drain the pineapple well or it will be runny! Also, I think next time while I'm waiting for the cakes to cool will put the filling in the fridge as well. Might help it set up a bit better. Who knows. This cake was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a huge hit!!! Cake and filling/frosting turned out fantastic! Although, I still gave 5 stars- for taste and presentation, the cake was not quite the consistency of fluffy white cake, but rather- spongy pound cake. Which happened to work beautifully anyway, but the cake was much different than I had anticipated. I also added a bit extra jam and pineapple to suit us, and again- turned out awesome! The Birthday Girl was very happy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
5 Stars for the cake portion (I used a different filling). This is the best white cake recipe I have used. I will turn to this when I need a white cake for any occassion. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This recipe was great! I halved the servings and added cut strawberries into the batter and it turned out heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I didn't use the whole recipe, just the cake part, which actually deserves five stars! This is the best white cake I've ever made. It had a very even, light texture and both layers were in perfect proportion. I used sliced, sugared fresh strawberries between the layers, and frosted it with the Wilton white buttercream recipe for my daughter's birthday cake. Everyone absolutely loved it! Be sure to use clear vanilla extract if you are shooting for a really white cake. It was delicious, and this will now be my go-to recipe for white cake. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I only made the filling, needed it for another cake I was making. It tastes great, but very runny:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made just the cake part,i must say it'svery good i made my own chocolate frosting.The cake was very good and moist ty for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Flavor was good but I found the cake to be dry and spongey like an angel-food cake. Not what I was expecting for a white cake. Won't be using this recipe again, sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States