Fruit Espuma (Latin American Gelatin Foam) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Interesting. Used fat free evap, don't think that made a difference. Whipped up beautifully. The texture is thick and foamy but very light on the palate, so it takes a little getting used to. You expect something more dense from the look of it, but what you get is ethereal when you take a spoonful. Give it a try. Oh, a hint, chill your bowl and beaters or whip with your evap. Will give you even more volume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Millstone, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I've been making something like this for years. We call it creamed jello. I decided to try your recipe to see the difference and I prefered mine. I use only 1 cup of water versus the cup and a half. Also, I skip the cooling down and just throw it all together and mix. Mine has a thicker consistency but still soft and fluffy. With the product I ended up with, there is NO way that this could ever be put into a mold. I also use 2% evap milk to save on calories. You can use any kind of jello you like. The possiblities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
My family liked it alot, nice and light. I will definitely make it again. I think that I will try different flavors next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I let my gelatin set up a little more than I should have....it was a little difficult to incorporate w/out deflating the whipped milk but didn't seem to affect the outcome any. I swirled part of the recipe into tiny glass custard cups & tucked them in the middle of some HUGE rose blossoms I cut off one of my rosebushes. I garnished them w/ a couple of fresh raspberries & rose petals (I only use organic products on my roses). The rest of the recipe I poured into a mold & we had it the following day. Lovely recipe...thansk Apple Jacks! Next time I may try subbing juice or even wine for the water to add extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was sooo good and really hit the spot. I used sugar free jello and fat free evaporated milk. My jello had set up too much when I went to get it from the fridge, so I nuked it for a bit to loosen it up and then beat it into the milk. It was perfect.. nice pretty pink, no red clumps and just delicious. I'm going to try this with another flavor jello next week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
this is wonderful. I did not put the jello mix in the fridge, I just left it on the counter to cool to room temp. It definately serves more than 5 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
A very old recipe because my mother used to make it with different flavors of jello. Suggest you use only 3/4 can of evaporated milk. Always the first dessert to disappear at a church supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
My grandmother from"the old country" Scotland, used to make this for me 50 years ago! It is so good and so simple to make...brings back many good memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Super easy,ligth and soft,Looking to make it with diferent flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is simple and easy, and everyone in the house just loves it. I am looking forward to trying this recipe with various other flavours and colours. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States